I don’t think you understand

Sarah Mele
1 min readSep 22, 2016

--

you’re not alone
in having bad thoughts
emotions that burn inside

I’m not immune to getting angry
there are times I want to call you
every horrible thing in the book
and mean it all

But I don’t

even if it’s how I feel,
even if, in the moment,
I think you deserve it.

Words have consequences
to speak is an action,
every fight has an outcome.

To be honest at any price
is to take our foundation
and hammer a crack
into its cement

a crack that needs to be mended
so that time and the changing seasons
don’t let it creep
and grow
and widen
and someday break us apart

to protect what we built
we patch the cracks
fill the holes we created
in the pieces we already made

Not wanting to give life
the chance to tear us down

So we spend our time
there is none left;
no mortar to pour
into making more
building new strong places to stand

I don’t think you understand

Life gives us so many battles
an unrelenting stream
of obstacles to conquer

What sense does it make
that we are the ones
breaking our own creation

fixing the same avoidable damage
over and over again

--

--

Sarah Mele

product person, deep generalist in progress, obsessed with learning, regularly writes things