For Single Mothers, There is no “Day without Women”

Politics are irrelevant. I need to show up anyway.

Sarah Nadav
Athena Talks
2 min readMar 8, 2017

--

“A Day Without Women” is a great idea. I hope that it will shed light on all the work- paid and unpaid that women do. For so many, I am sure that it will teach a lesson in how much women do- our contributions at work and at home.

But there is one glaring assumption about taking the day off, which is that there will be someone else there who will CARRY THE BURDEN FOR YOU. Even if it is just for one day.

There is an assumptions that there are fathers, husbands, or brothers that will SEE what you do. As a single mother, I have only my other friends to count on. If they sit this day out then the only ones who will suffer will be our kids.

So, I am showing up today.

I will work today. I will do labor that is both paid and unpaid. I won’t be in a crowd marching. But I did change my picture on Facebook, and I wrote this blog post hoping that at least one of the women who has walked off her job will keep in mind all of the other women who can’t.

--

--

Sarah Nadav
Athena Talks

Behavioral Economist, Corporate Storyteller, Fintech Entrepreneur, Journalist, World Economic Forum Expert Network