Artwork by Richelle Rich

Free Agent: What do you do when your solo show gets canceled?

An interview with Los Angeles-based artist Richelle Rich

When I interviewed Richelle Rich a couple weeks ago about how her big solo show in New York was canceled weeks before it opened, I never thought that I would relate so much to her experience immediately after it happened. Then a week to the day after we spoke, a gallery I am working with had to postpone a much-anticipated show we were working on together. For a moment there it felt like the bottom had fallen out of my little boat called Artworld Fantasea.

That’s the funny thing about doing interviews, hosting a podcast, or doing tarot readings for people — your subject’s world often ends up mirroring your own in strange or unexpected ways. I have written about this synchronicity before when Shannon Knight of the Tarot Diagnosis lost her podcast co-host the same week as I did, after months of other uncanny synchronicities.

What I take away from it now is these are little signs that everything is going to plan, so TRY AND RELAX. Also because Richelle was so generous to share her story with me it helped when I was faced with a similar dilemma, to know how to Lemonade that sh*t, inspired by Pippoloti Rist’s iconic video performance piece Ever is Over All, 1997.

--

--

Sarah Thibault | Artist, Writer, & Podcast Host

Creator and host of The Side Woo podcast, Writer of Art Date, a weekly blog about art, belonging, living in Los Angeles and keeping that spark.