What Would You Do If You Made $1,000/Month On Medium?

Sara Flower
2 min readMar 12, 2024
Photo by Andrew Neel: https://www.pexels.com/photo/macbook-pro-on-brown-wooden-table-2312369/

While a small % of people make $1,000+ per month on Medium, most writers make a few extra dollars per month. Apparently, over 90% of Medium writers make under $100/month.

I made $100 for my first month on Medium which was amazing to me. It got me thinking: What would I do if I one day made $1,000 per month?

Recently, I wrote about how stressful unemployment is. Even if I was making $1,000 on Medium every month that wouldn’t cover all my bills. However, that is one heck of a safety net if you use it as an extra income/savings builder.

I’d still want to work full-time as I like the routine that full-time jobs give. However, imagine how much money you could save if you made $1,000 per month on Medium!

To make $1000/month on Medium takes work and consistency. It could also backfire if my earnings dropped and didn’t return to normal the following month. Which is why I’d rather see it as extra income rather than a main income.

Realistically, I think it’ll take me a while to reach $1,000/month on Medium. I think I could reach a steady $200/month, possibly more if I stay consistent. To reach $1,000/month you’d probably need to get boosted a lot.

--

--