A 90’s Kid’s dream

Saran
2 min readMay 13, 2017

--

Every time I see an adult on a bicycle, I no longer despair for the future of the human race
- H.G Wells

This is what I believe in. Everything seems to fall in place when I ride a bicycle. And when I come across others riding it, the future of mankind feels secure.

Being a 90’s kid, I had never dreamed of owning a high tech gadget. I just wanted to go out, roam around and explore. Mostly because there wasn’t any other activity to spend my time in and also, it was all about getting the freedom to explore. The nature fascinated me more than any gadget ever could.

https://www.postpositives.com/SaranMurthy10/5065/A-90s-Kids-dream

That’s how my dream was influenced. My dream of owning a bicycle. The one with the gears to be precise. Those times we used to manage with the rented cycles. Five-six rupees per day for a cycle, seemed to be worth the joy of exploring the adventurous world.

At first my parents, like all the others, didn’t approve of the idea where a kid goes out of the house or veranda in a bicycle. After a lot of pleading, they bought a bicycle for me -wasn’t the one I wanted. It was an ordinary one without a gear. I managed with it but my heart was persistent in wanting my dream bicycle.

I got my first job during college days. I bought the cycle I always wanted with my first salary. MTB Rock Rider — that yellow bicycle was just a beginning.

The best part was, I didn’t have to depend on anyone for achieving a part of my dream.

Those days every colleague of mine owned a motorbike. My dad got one for me. I remember his words, “This is the age to ride a bike, not bicycle”, in his stern voice. That one sentence affected me. I wasn’t someone who gets influenced by the standards set by others, but my dad was. I wanted him to support what I liked, not think of what the others would say about our standard.

It wasn’t long when I quit my job and had to sell my cycle to start a business. After almost a year of my new job, I managed all my expenses and saved enough for my next bicycle.

My Scholl Ecosport — My soul

That’s all about how I got my dream bicycle. I’m sure everyone has a story to tell about how they got their’s. I’d love to ask all the riders out there, what’s your story?

share your stories on https://www.postpositives.com/

--

--