Sara Petit
1 min readMay 27, 2019
My brother and I…photo by my dad

A poem for my distant brother

No more backpacks

Suitcases

Camping stuff

Dirty socks

Crumpled clothes hanging everywhere

Open books

Closed doors

Sound of music leaking out of your room

Smell of pot

Deep drags on cigarettes after drunken hours

Your excited voice on the phone with friends

Your loud joy over a meal, your louder disgust over another

Your vertical eating in front of TV

Empty bottles of shampoo and the shower tap left on by you

No door suddenly opened

You… walking on carpets with shoes on

Mum shouting soon after

You ignoring it anyway

You apparently ignoring everything

And yet

Noticing all the details

Your late comings

You

Groveling on the bed

Face down the pillow…

And here I am

Scanning this still house

Picking every scattered memory of you

Hoarding nostalgia

To gargle through the days to come

Without you…

June 2014