How to Remember Information in Cybersecurity

Sara Sheon
3 min readMay 25, 2023
Photo by Kvalifik on Unsplash

There’s TONS of information online for the buzz word, “cybersecurity,” it’s overwhelming. Everything says to get some certifications and do some CTFs. After being in the field for a few months now, I’ve learned it’s not about how well you know the topics, everything you’ve memorized, or who you know, but how well you understand it.

What does “Understand” mean?

If you’ve read any of my other articles, you’ll know I’m a huge proponent of understanding topics, but what does it mean? Previously, I said “To understand does not mean you’ve seen it before or you’ve read it before. To understand means you can explain it to a noob and apply the knowledge.” While this is true, I’ve learned the past few months it’s so much more.

Desire to Learn:

I’ll be honest, I seriously struggled in school. It was all to just pass a test. My university didn’t have the degree I was interested in so I went for the piece of paper. My employment at the time was my interest. I won’t be going back any time soon to pursue any higher education but I’m always going to be a life long learner.

Having the desire to learn on your own terms will seriously level up your game. If you aren’t interested in the governance side, get the foundations, but don’t dive in. Throwing…

--

--

Sara Sheon

Hi, I'm Sara! I aim to help cybersecurity students get into the field using skills and techniques I've learned! https://x.com/sara_sheon