Note Taking in Cybersecurity

Sara Sheon
4 min readFeb 6, 2023
Photo by GoodNotes on Unsplash

Like many of us, I’m trying to get into cybersecurity. After nearly 20 years of classroom education and continuing education, I’ve learned a lot about note-taking, studying, and retention. This article will cover paper versus digital notes, what to look for in a note-taking app, app organization, and note structure.

Before we begin, check out my cybersecurity journey:

Paper versus Digital:

Paper Pros:

  • Customizable
  • Better retention
  • No distractions
  • Cheap

Paper Cons:

  • Need to have the notebook(s)
  • Unrecoverable
  • Time consuming

Digital Pros:

  • Free software
  • Easily access old notes
  • Backups
  • Add outside resources
  • Easy to share

Digital Cons:

  • Purchase device

--

--

Sara Sheon

Hi, I'm Sara! I aim to help cybersecurity students get into the field using skills and techniques I've learned! https://x.com/sara_sheon