A letter to the one i loved in silence

Sara
5 min readJun 9, 2024

--

«In the quiet corners of my heart, where unspoken dreams dwell, I pen this letter to you, the one I loved in silence.»

One ordinary April day in our second year of high school, I glanced at him and thought, ‘He’s handsome.’ It surprised me, and I wondered what was happening to me. That moment was the start of countless daydreams about the boy who was my annoying classmate.

I remember the second week of high school when he arrived late to class and took the seat behind me. At that time, I never imagined I would fall in love with him. Throughout the first and second years, I found him very annoying,however by the end of the second year, my feelings changed, like a budding rose. Annoyance turned to affection, to my surprise, For the boy who sat behind me, I was now seen with new eyes.

After the end of the second year, when I realized I had developed feelings for him, I tried to ignore them and pretend as if nothing had changed. But whenever I saw his picture or caught a glimpse of him in person, my heart would race, and nervousness would flood over me.

As senior year started my heart soared when I saw him again. Fate seemed to smile upon us as he took the seat in front of me, and I settled in behind him. Those first two weeks of high school were the best, filled with laughter and an unexpected closeness between us.

As the days went by, my feelings only grew stronger. I found myself daydreaming about him during classes, wondering what it would be like if we were more than just friends. Every little interaction we had, whether it was a casual conversation or a shared laugh, felt like a precious moment to me. I began to notice the small things about him

the way he smiled, the sound of his laughter, and the kindness in his eyes.

I remember feeling an overwhelming nervousness whenever he was near, making it difficult to even look at him without breaking into nervous laughter. But despite the butterflies in my stomach, being around him brought a joy that I couldn’t quite explain.

Every shared joke and exchanged glance only deepened the connection between us, creating moments that I would cherish long after they had passed. In the midst of the bustling classroom, amidst the chatter and the shuffle of papers, our eyes would find each other. In that fleeting moment, time seemed to stand still as a silent language of love passed between us, speaking volumes of our hidden desires and unspoken yearnings.

He sat in front of me in class, unaware of the way my heart raced whenever he was nearby. I remember how my hands would tremble and my heart would race whenever he was near. His presence had a way of making me feel both exhilarated and anxious. The jealousy that surged within me when he talked to other girls was almost unbearable. Watching him laugh with them felt like my heart was being shattered into a thousand pieces.

He was the first boy I ever prayed for, the first I wrote about every day in my diary. I penned hundreds of notes about him, filled with unsent letters expressing everything I felt. He was the first boy who made me cry at the thought of not seeing him.

I wish I could tell him how much he meant to me. Every song I listened to echoed his presence, every movie I watched made me long for us to be the characters. No matter what I did, he was always there, lingering in my thoughts. He was my first thought in the morning and my last thought before sleep, a constant presence in my heart.

I never imagined that a simple crush could blossom into love, nor did I anticipate how deeply this love would affect me. It’s incredible how this feeling has turned my world upside down.

Liking him so deeply turned my world upside down. The pain of unspoken love affected me profoundly. I cried until it began to affect my mental health, until I lost my appetite, struggled to sleep, and couldn’t focus. The realization that he would never be mine was devastating, and it made it impossible for me to remember how to be happy.

But who could I blame for this pain? It was my own fault. I knew how I would react when I fell in love. I knew it was one-sided, and I knew it would hurt. I knew it might destroy me, yet I fell for him anyway. There’s nothing you can do when love takes over. It makes you powerless.

In the realm of love, one becomes utterly powerless, a mere pawn in its relentless game – a prisoner to the relentless agony of unrequited affection, with the heart shackled by the chains of longing and despair. My love for him knows no bounds, yet expressing it feels beyond my grasp. With every passing moment, he occupies my thoughts, leaving me ensnared in a silent yearning from which I cannot break free. Love, in all its glory, has left me feeling utterly powerless.

As graduation draws near, I’m engulfed in a storm of conflicting emotions. The thought of parting ways fills me with an inexplicable ache, knowing our paths may never cross again. The painful realization that I’ll never have the opportunity to confess my true feelings weighs heavily on me, like the weight of unspoken words pressing down upon my soul. Each passing moment feels heavier with the burden of regrets and what-ifs, suffocating in their intensity.

Standing on the precipice of farewell, I find myself grappling with a tumult of emotions, each one a poignant reminder of the love I kept hidden within the recesses of my heart, a melody destined to linger in silence.»

For now, I cherish these feelings alone, like delicate petals blooming in the hidden garden of my heart.

Though my affection remains unspoken, I hold onto the hope that one day, you’ll see the love that I’ve kept hidden away, waiting patiently for its moment to bloom. Until that moment arrives, I’ll carry the weight of these emotions, as my love for you burns with unwavering intensity even in the silence.

«In the quiet of my heart, your memory will forever linger, a silent love that knows no bounds.»

--

--

Sara

I only write when I am falling in love, or falling apart. ˚˖𓍢ִ໋🌷͙֒✧˚.🎀༘⋆