The struggle to say goodbye

Sara
2 min readJun 11, 2024

--

«Every beat of my heart echoes his name, a relentless reminder of the love I struggle to release.»

How do I release him from the grip of my heart when he embodies every dream I’ve ever dared to dream? How do I extinguish the flame of love for the one who has always been my heart’s deepest desire? Each day, I am consumed by thoughts of him, his presence haunting every corner of my being. Each day, his memory wraps around me like thorns, his absence a relentless ache, tormenting every breath I take.

In the midst of everyone’s advice to let go as the school year ends, how do I convey that he was more than just a crush to me? He was the one my heart genuinely craved. His absence leaves an ache in my soul that no amount of distraction can soothe. Each night, I find myself lost in tears, praying for a reality where he belongs to me.

When I try to convey to others, they often misunderstand – he wasn’t merely a passing crush; he was my first real love. It didn’t happen in an instant, but over time, I found myself falling for him. His smile, the melody of his laughter, they were the things that captured my heart. If only I could preserve those moments eternally.

How do I say goodbye to the one who colored my world with love and yearning? Each sunset, every gentle breeze, every passing second carries his memory, a poignant reminder of our past. His laughter still echoes in my mind, a melody I can’t let go of.

I understand I must release you, but I can’t bring myself to do it. The thought of letting go fills me with fear, yet holding on is equally painful. It’s a painful realization that he may never truly understand the depth of my affection, the countless tears shed in his name. Even though I have to say goodbye, you’ll stay in my heart forever. My love for you will never fade. I still hope we’ll meet again someday.

Will our paths cross once more?

--

--

Sara

I only write when I am falling in love, or falling apart. ˚˖𓍢ִ໋🌷͙֒✧˚.🎀༘⋆