#EmberJS2019 Wishlist!

Sarbbottam Bandyopadhyay
2 min readJun 14, 2019

Render an ember component

I wish I could render an ember component in the browser just by importing the bare metal files, instead of loading Ember.js Application built as a result of ember serve command.

For example, I can render a react component like so:

<script src="https://unpkg.com/react@16/umd/react.development.js" crossorigin></script>
<script src="https://unpkg.com/react-dom@16/umd/react-dom.development.js" crossorigin></script>
<body>
<div id="root"></div>
</body>
<script>
ReactDOM.render(
<h1>Hello, world!</h1>,
document.getElementById('root')
);
</script>

Allow query params to be appended to the URL w/o controllers

I currently see no need for controllers other than handling query params. If query params can be appended to the URL without any need to be defined, they can be handled without a controller. URL and URLSearchParams are well supported and polyfills are available. One less thing to learn for the new future ember developers.

Allow inline javascript and handlebars

I wish I could write inline javascript and handlebars in the same file. If possible then I don’t need to use helpers to consume javascript from handlebars. Another less thing to learn for the new future ember developers.

Let ember be route and component

Let ember be just route and component. I can’t think of anything else that I need. Also, I hope to find a day when I will be able to use ember router with react component and vice verse.

Thank you for reading 🙏

--

--