Sayan Sarkarr
4 min readNov 21, 2022

Grade 10 Maths (Venn Diagram) + UX Design

Alma-Share Cover Image

Recently, I was doing a capstone project “Alma-Share(peer-to-peer rental/sharing platform)” for my certification towards becoming a product designer. During my user research phase, when I was performing focused grouped discussions with the users. An idea of using the Grade 10 Mathematical Venn Diagram, popped up. I googled a bit regarding UX Venn Diagrams and how to implement them in real scenarios.

I enquired about the same with my Boot-Camp instructor. He liked the idea and appreciated my efforts for the same. I got a green signal to go ahead with the implementation process.

Alma-Share Multiple Navigations

I shall be elaborating on the process with you all, on how you too can implement this technique to create better research outcomes.

I divided the users into 4 groups named A, B, C & D respectively.

Group A: 6 Users (willing to share items with friends and seniors)

Group B: 6 Users (not willing to share items with friends and seniors)

Group C: 6 Users (willing to share items with friends, seniors & strangers)

Group D: 6 Users (not willing to share items with friends, seniors & strangers)

Group A/Group B

Group C/Group D

All Groups

The pain points of the users were plotted on a multiple Venn Diagram, as shown above. This helped me come up with multiple HMW questions.

Alma-Share Home Screen

Framing the HMW questions?

  • How might we ensure the security of the gadgets while sharing?
  • How might we make gadget tracking enabled?
  • How might we include a rental feature in gadget sharing?
  • How might we ensure transparency in gadget sharing?
  • How might we ensure Insurance for the borrowed gadget?
  • How might we enable multiple gadget listings?
  • How might we ensure reliability while sharing?
  • How might we ensure accessibility of the gadget via users?

And, I was able to group the HMW questions into 3 priorities:

Top Priority (p1):

  • How might we ensure the security of the gadgets while sharing?
  • How might we make gadget tracking enabled?

Medium Priority (p2):

  • How might we include a rental feature in gadget sharing?
  • How might we ensure transparency in gadget sharing?
  • How might we ensure Insurance for the borrowed gadget?

Low Priority (p3):

  • How might we enable multiple gadget listings?
  • How might we ensure reliability while sharing?
  • How might we ensure accessibility of the gadget via users?

So as you all can see above, by using UX Venn Diagrams I was able to prioritize the pain points of the users. This helped me in coming up with User Flows with utmost clarity. The experience of the User is variable, but the thought processes are common. User Experience Research is all about understanding the overlapping pain points of the variable users and coming up with a common inference to address the pain points with priorities in chronological order.

It’s always great to solve a larger bottleneck, that addresses the common users and business goals altogether.

UX design processes are personal and ever-evolving. Therefore, if you have any insights or would like to connect with me to better understand my design process. Please feel free to contact me at sarkarrsayan@gmail.com

To read the complete case study, Click Here.

Alma-Share Mockup