Running into an old friend

Sasha Izyashchnyy
2 min readJul 21, 2023

--

I suppose this is something that happens as you “grow up”

I ran into an old friend who I knew growing up,

We weren’t super close but spent a good amount of time together

Until, life changed course and never saw him again.

It didn’t matter, until I saw him again while I was running errands.

The first thing he said is, “you look healthy” I laughed

But it’s true, most people are losing themselves into the self deprecating,

Self sabotaging, self hating lifestyles on wasting their time and money getting drunk and fat.

I never understood this. Why?

Couldn’t pay me to do it…

Anyway, I asked what he was planning on doing for the remainder of his life.

He told me, sounded horrifying.

As if he’s already given up,

Almost like he’s a dead man walking.

I once heard a quote of someone saying

“Your childhood dies along with your dreams, you then become an adult, an exoskeleton of what you once wanted to be.”

I’m paraphrasing.

Anyhow.

I ended the conversation before he could ask me what I wanted to do because people tend to get insecure that I still have dreams.

It’s intimidating to believe in yourself, funny.

Never give up no matter what. There’s no reason not to.

--

--