WHOLEFOOD PLANT-BASED šŸ„¦: MY DIETARY JOURNEY

Blue Bear Gene
11 min readAug 21, 2023

--

Higher ā€™nā€™ Higher, Beautiful Friends
šŸ‘‹šŸ¼šŸ»šŸ’‹šŸ’‹

Gather round! Let me tell Yā€™All what lead me to a Wholefood Plant-Based diet. No! Itā€™s not for me to tell Yā€™All what Yā€™All should eat. No! All I want to do is share my storyā€¦ You may have read this story alreadyā€¦

Wholefood Plant-Based to be precise!

I DREAMT OF EATING MEAT

Yes, Iā€™ve recently had dreams or nightmares ā€” depending on Your perspective ā€” of eating meatā€¦

I have to tell Yā€™All that Iā€™ve been watching a TV show called ā€˜The Bearā€™ ā€” not related to me. šŸ˜… This TV show has come free courtesy of a mobile phone upgrade. ā€˜The Bearā€™ is about a talented Chef dealing with the death of his brother, and taking over his restaurant. I reckon thatā€™s why Iā€™ve been dreaming of eating meat of late. I started watching ā€˜The Bearā€™ a few days ago.

But are there more to these dreams? Perhapsā€¦ Letā€™s exploreā€¦

DOCTORā€™S ORDERS

To cut a long story short, I found myself at my GP because I tore up my Right Shoulder pretty badly. I suspected that I lacked vitamin D through ā€˜Vampire Hoursā€™. I used to be a Music Journalist, and I would go out in the evening and end up in bed as the Sun was coming up.

My GP told me to eat beef and eggs, and gave me industrial strength vitamin D pills. Apparently, People with a dark hue need more Sunlight than People with a light hue.

I had stopped eating beef because of the Mad Cow disease phenomena. So, I consumed white meats and fish. When my doctor told me to eat beef, I didnā€™t need telling twice. I thought, ā€˜It must be okay to eat beef,ā€™ and, ā€˜What was I thinking trying to be a Vegetarian and Vegan?ā€™

Before I knew it, I was consuming beef, lamb hearts, lamb cuts, and venison pretty much everyday. The only meat I couldnā€™t and canā€™t eat is pork ā€” as some German Friends found out. I just canā€™t keep it down.

CHRONIC

Roughly after 6 months, I noticed that my Feet were painfulā€¦ I put it down to walking for long periodsā€¦ But it turned out that I had gout ā€” especially in the Big Toe of my Left Foot.

The pain was so excruciating that I cut down on being physically active. But I kept eating until I got morbidly obese! I didnā€™t even see the weight creeping on.

I was also dealing with a load of problems, which put me into a negative mode, and I comfort ate without releasing it. Can Yā€™All believe I thought comfort eating was a Female trait? šŸ™„šŸ™„šŸ™„šŸ™„

FITNESS

Physically, I was in a bad wayā€¦ My Good Friend saw the state I was in and enrolled Us into a gym, circa August 2016. I struggled on the treadmill at firstā€¦ Walking was so painful, but I didnā€™t give up. Soon enough, I was able to jog lightly.

I struggled with the rowing machine as my Stomach and Privates occupied the same region. But I stuck with it, and attended the gym 4 to 5 days a week. After 4 months, I lost 4 kg. Amazing!

HOW I GAVE UP MEAT ā€™Nā€™ DAIRY

One evening, after a hardcore gym session, I found myself in the supermarket with nothing but chump change in my pocket. I had a choice between cut price meat or a vegetable soup basis kit: 2 carrots, 1 parsnip, 1 Swede, and an onion. It made sense to choose the vegetable soup kit as there was a variety.

Me being lazy, I put the vegetable soup kit in an oven dish and lightly roasted them. It was delicious! The next morning, I noticed the pain in my Feet had subsided.

So, just like that, I gave up all animal based ā€˜foodsā€™. This was September 2016. Iā€™ve not looked back since!

THE (FORMER) IDIOT

Isnā€™t that an Iggy Pop album title? Anywayā€¦ I was doing great on a Wholefood Plant-Based diet until I started making smoothiesā€¦ I made my smoothies from scratch, and with a variety of fresh fruits. Circa 18 months later, I had given myself type 2 diabetes.

Yepā€¦ Iā€™ve got a sweet toothā€¦ Fruits were not meant to be consumed this way.

I always thought I had eczema, but after nearly killing myself with smoothies, I can look back and see sugar was the cause of ā€˜eczemaā€™ manifesting on my Hands. My GP would prescribe a steroid based cream to tackle symptom and not the problem.

Thanks to my toxic smoothies, my Hands looked nasty with discoloration ā€” complete with weeping sores, and I was developing dark patches on my Body. I looked these ghastly symptoms up, and thatā€™s when I knew it was type 2 diabetes.

It took about 5 acute hypoglycemic episodes to understand I was seriously ill. My Body simply couldnā€™t cope with so many types sugars in my System: fructose, glucose, syrups found in these protein bars, and the sugar in chocolate barsā€¦ Insanity!

What on Earth was I thinking? Did I state that I have a sweet tooth? Lucky to be alive!

My System either couldnā€™t produce enough insulin or I done something to compromise it. Needless to state, Iā€™ve dropped the smoothies, and fruit juices. The damages are still there a year onā€¦ Thankfully Iā€™m seeing evidence of repair.

MINERALS

From figuring out that my Body couldnā€™t cope with the amount of sugars in my System, I then learned I was deficient in essential Minerals ā€” especially Magnesium!

I discovered that Magnesium was pivotal in clearing up my sugar ravaged Skin. I first thought it was Iron. But it was the Magnesium within the Iron supplementā€¦ From there, I researched Magnesium ā€” there are a few variants. Magnesium Citrate works the best for me! Boy, did it make me poop!

The funny thing is that I tried Magnesium before, and I wasnā€™t really paying attention to the effects beyond stopping my Legs from cramping in the middle of the night after a taxing Tae Kwon Do session! I obviously didnā€™t observe the effects on my sugar metabolism.

REDUCTIONS

Iā€™ve reduced my sugar intake a great deal. I would like to think that my current dietary habits are much better than it was 2 years ago. My Skin is looking a lot betterā€¦ In fact, my Skin had never looked so good.

I try to eat in a varied mannerā€¦ I canā€™t lie to Yā€™All, cooking for 1 is freaking boring! I have a tendency to be lazyā€¦ But thinking about itā€¦ What does it say about the way I think about myself when I canā€™t be bothered to prepare a decent meal for myself? Self-Love ā€” at least for me ā€” has proven to be the hardest Love of all.

WHATā€™S THE MATTER? WHATā€™S WRONG?

Even though Iā€™m doing my best to eat well, Iā€™m still feeling oddā€¦ Itā€™s not like Iā€™m lacking energyā€¦ When I was doing Tae Kwon Do, I was able to keep up with Those significantly younger than me. But I noticed my recovery rate was slow. Soreness lasted for months instead of days!

At the moment, my portions are goodā€¦ I eat when Iā€™m hungry. I donā€™t go crazy on snacks. Iā€™ve cut down on the protein barsā€¦ So, whatā€™s the matter? Whatā€™s wrong? Whatā€™s missing in my diet? Do You have any idea?

HEREā€™S WHAT I THINK

I reckon the reason why I feel somewhat unfulfilled with my diet is because what Iā€™m eating is close to garbage.

Hereā€™s how I see itā€¦ Forget the pesticides for a minute or twoā€¦ Fresh produce is in plastic packaging or in cratesā€¦ Just how much of the nutrients are retained from when it is harvested and brought to the shops?

Think about the soil and how We as Humans extract all the Minerals from the Earth to make the soil inert. What nutrients are going into the plants? There are more Minerals in Your smartphone than whatā€™s in produce!

Into meat? Well, the animals are getting Plant-Based feed ā€” for the most part. In addition, the animals get injected with all sorts such as vitamin B12!

As a result, Iā€™ve needed to stock up on Vitamins and Minerals. It seems to me that Iā€™m not getting enough nutrients from my food. Itā€™s not because plants are ā€˜badā€™ or ā€˜not as nutritionally dense as meatā€™. NO! It seems to be that vital nutrients are stripped from fruits and vegetables due to poor soil, premature harvesting, and transportation.

INTUITION

These supplements did me the World of good!

Call it my ā€˜Higher-Selfā€™, ā€˜Guardian Angelā€™, ā€˜Divine Creatorā€™, ā€˜The Holy Spiritā€™ or ā€˜Godā€™. But Iā€™ve learned to follow a calling from withinā€¦ I was driven to purchase Multi-Minerals, and it helpedā€¦ Then I received a message to get some Iron supplements, then Magnesiumā€¦ This brings me toā€¦

MEAT JERK SAUCE

Guys?! The following is no jokeā€¦ I donā€™t know if Yā€™All know, but Iā€™m a Martial Arts Enthusiast. This has given me more impetus to get my Splits! Iā€™ve been wanting to do The Splits for years! Anyway, one evening, I went too far in the Box Splits position, and upon Awakening the next day, my Nutsack doubled in size šŸ˜±! So, I Googled it and learned that this can happen from straining the groin areaā€¦ Phew šŸ˜…! When the swelling went down, I did a few master strokes to make sure that everything is in working orderā€¦ I observed that it was low on volume. Thatā€™s not going to be much of a Facialā€¦ šŸ˜”

This told me that I was lacking Zinc, and water. After taking a Zinc supplement, my volume has doubled, and it shoots out with force! As a Male, itā€™s essential to maintain my vitality! I see Men younger than me with these huge Bellies, and whatnotā€¦ Itā€™s scary! šŸ˜± But if thatā€™s what They likeā€¦ Roll onā€¦

WOKE?

The Great Awakening is freaking awesome! However, Some of Us have it in Mind that being Wholefood Plant-Based means Iā€™m down with the agenda for lab grown Frankenfoods, and all the rest of itā€¦ NO! For me, if Mother & Father Nature didnā€™t make it, Iā€™m not eating it.

Oh! I donā€™t like to state that Iā€™m ā€˜Veganā€™. I prefer the term ā€˜Wholefood Plant-Basedā€™. According to a lecturer, Who I canā€™t remember the name of, the term ā€˜Veganā€™ came about from taking the ā€˜Vegā€™ and ā€˜anā€™ from the word ā€˜Vegetarianā€™. Andā€¦ Ta daaaa! But today, Veganism has been hijacked by nefarious agents to perpetuate sick agendas, e.g. mutilating Our Children for this Trans agenda. They are experimenting on Our Children. The damages cannot be reversed.

Many Vegans support this Climate change psyop. Many are fooled by the Greta Thunberg actor. No doubt, industrial agriculture has a devastating effect on the Planet. In any event, promoting Thunberg is not the way to go.

Not forgetting that a load of ā€˜Vegansā€™ jumped on the scamdemic based on the ā€˜Bat Soupā€™ narrative. šŸ™„šŸ™„šŸ™„šŸ™„ I guess Their Hearts were in the right place, but Their Headsā€¦ šŸ˜”šŸ˜”šŸ˜”šŸ˜”

Still, Some use being ā€œwokeā€ as an excuse to hate on Wholefood Plant-Based / Vegan People. Thatā€™s not my idea of being ā€œwokeā€. ā€˜Wokeismā€™ isnā€™t about descending into hatred of Others. Well, it shouldnā€™t be!

We have to take the time to inform and be the best versions of Ourselves.

RESPECT

Look! I donā€™t eat meat because it almost ruined my health. I donā€™t want to put death into my Body. Iā€™ve seen how the animals are treated and I find it abnormal. Thereā€™s nothing Humane about a slaughter house. Thereā€™s nothing Humane about separating a Calf from Its Mother so that it can become veal. Thereā€™s nothing Humane about mincing Male Chicks ā€” by the thousands ā€” alive as They arenā€™t deemed profitable by the breeders. Thereā€™s nothing Humane about industrial agriculture.

Milk is rape. The Cow has to be artificially impregnated to lactate so Some of Us can have cornflakes, tea, coffee, etc. As a Child, I NEVER enjoyed milk. It was forced on meā€¦ Itā€™s the same with baconā€¦ That was forced upon me tooā€¦ It made me sickā€¦ But I followed my Folks tradition until I was able to keep it downā€¦ Then when I took up Bodybuilding as a teenager (15/16), I had become so indoctrinated, I believed consuming animal products would transform my sickly, asthmatic Self into a Superman.

Going back to milkā€¦ I found it repulsive from day 1ā€¦ When I reached the age of 15, I naturally got the notion to water down the milk in my cereal, then I just started to use water completely. That said, I did try skimmed and powdered milk; they werenā€™t too bad in taste. I could only ever have it cold. The smell of hot milk makes me want to hurl! Gosh! Thinking back to when I was forced to eat hot porridge as a Childā€¦ šŸ¤®

From there, I discovered soya milk, and I didnā€™t really like it. These days I donā€™t consume plant mylk. I donā€™t need to. Water is the best! Or I make my own milk!

The point I wanted to make is that when I gave up cows milk in my teens, my asthma went away. I donā€™t think thatā€™s a coincidence. Professional singers avoid dairy like the plague as it induces mucus production.

For a long time, Iā€™ve fluctuated between Vegan, Vegetarian, Pescatarian, White Meat ā€™nā€™ Fish (never Pork), then I added Red Meats to my detriment.

Today, Iā€™m Wholefood Plant-Based for Life! This September will mark 7 years as Wholefood Plant-Based. In that time, Iā€™ve never needed to see a GP! Touch wood!

VARIETY

Variety is the spice of Life! What Iā€™m missing in my food are herbs and spices! Through watching a show about cooking, I realize that I miss cooking with herbs and spices. Iā€™ve come to realize that I miss being creative with Wholefood Plant-Based cooking. I used to do a Vegan Cooking Blog, but I stoppedā€¦ To be honest, I was disheartened by Vegan racists that took every opportunity to write their shitty bitchy uninformed comments about my food. Thatā€™s another reason why I stopped calling myself a ā€˜Veganā€™. I want to be separate from the assholes calling themselves ā€˜Veganā€™.

I was even contemplating writing a Wholefood Plant-Based Cookbook. Maybe next year!

IT WAS JUST A DREAM

Guys?! Donā€™t get it twisted! It was just a dream. Maybe this dream will see me become a 5 Star Wholefood Plant-Based Chefā€¦ Who knows? At the very least, Iā€™ll be making more of an effort with my cooking!

I think the dream is also telling me to ensure that I take good supplementation to make up for whatā€™s lacking in food.

Not every dream is meant to be taken literally. If so, I would be Gay or Bisexual. I would also have special powers that would enable me to to fly, fight crime in a costumeā€¦ Iā€™d also be a multimillionaire! When I dream that Iā€™ve become a multimillionaire, I do the lottery on the basis that the lucky numbers are somehow with me! Obviously, Iā€™ve not been lucky with the lottery! šŸ˜…

Well, thatā€™s it for this oneā€¦ Iā€™m wondering where to post thisā€¦ I hope You got something out of it. šŸ˜Š

Love Always,

šŸ»šŸ„¦
šŸ™šŸ¾ā¤ļøā€šŸ”„

--

--

Blue Bear Gene

I love Technology, Wholefood Plant-Based Cooking, Keeping Fit, Martial Arts, Observing the Dating Scene, Electronic Music, and Street Fashion.