It happens, it is true. This is possible.

My meditation experiences

When I was amazed!

Satyapandey
4 min readMar 24, 2024
Meditating near the bank of Ganga Rishikesh

Rishikesh is the spiritual and yoga city of India. I was sitting on the banks of the Ganga in Rishikesh. It was evening time. The pre-evening light was everywhere. The night was about to arrive in some time. I kept looking at the river Ganga. Yesterday the flowing Ganga was creating a wonderful joy in the heart, the Ganga water was as clean and transparent as glass. On some distant shores, the sand under the water was visible. Just a short distance away from me, some saints were also sitting on the ghats on the banks of the Ganga. , I was just looking at Mother Ganga. Nothing was going on in my mind at that time. For some time, Mother Ganga and I were the only two. I was empty from the inside. My eyes started closing. I closed my eyes. As soon as I closed my eyes, a milky light beam appeared in front of my eyes for just a few seconds. And disappeared. A state of the void had arisen inside me. But this moment also lasted only for a few seconds. I was astounded. My eyes opened and Mother Ganga was flowing in front of me. Immediately my attention shifted from the flowing Ganga and started looking at the mountains in front. The mind had become active. The mind never allows itself to die. Therefore my attention immediately went towards the mountains in front. I was getting amazing pleasure even in looking at the mountains. It is okay till joy, but this mind cannot tolerate the emptiness that arises after this joy. The same thing happened while looking at Ganga.

Maa Ganga Rishikesh

Mother Ganga is the carrier of water elements. Water is also one of the five elements. The quality of the water element is to pull the mind. This happens easily if water is flowing on a large scale. The flow of the river is one of them. Waves rise from the sea. There is also the presence of water elements. Even if you keep your eyes fixed on those waves and gaze at them, your mind will vanish. The vastness of the ocean begins to enter the heart. That’s why looking at the ocean makes us feel happy. If we keep looking at the continuous rain then something similar happens after a moment of joy. The drizzling rain must have brought joy in the hearts of many of you. If each of the elements is studied closely, we will find. Every element has a special quality. Indian philosophy says that our body is made of five elements. Earth, water, air, fire, and sky.

Ok beyond that, So sitting on the banks of the Ganga and naturally gazing at the waters of the Ganga, I became able to meditate for a short period. And after this, even before an even deeper state like samadhi could arise, the mind immediately did its work. And my eyes were fixed on the mountains. Little by little the darkness was beginning to deepen. I got up from there and started walking on the ghats on the banks of Ganga. After some time, I participated in the Aarti held on the banks of the Ganga. Only the incident that had happened earlier was going on in my mind. After having a light dinner, I again came to the ghat of Ganga and lay down on a ghat made of cement. I was not able to sleep. It must be around one o’clock in the night. I got up and went very near the flowing Ganga and sat down again. Again I started looking closely at the flowing water stream of Ganga. I kept looking at the Ganga in the same manner for about half an hour. Boredom began to arise in my mind. Perhaps this desire was buried somewhere deep within me. The appearance of a beam of light, something similar to what happened in the past, should happen again. But despite many efforts, nothing like that happened at that time.

I have noted one thing from my life experiences related to meditation. If some meditation-related experiences happen to you. And then after some time you want the same thing to happen, but it does not happen even after a lot of effort. Therefore, before sitting in meditation, previous expectations should be completely given up. There should not be any desire in the mind that something similar should happen as had happened earlier. During meditation, the previous experiences occur again but suddenly.

When I used to practice meditation in the beginning. This is my experience only then. My other experiences related to meditation were very amazing and thrilling. I will continue to tell you further also.

--

--

Satyapandey

Spiritual Teacher , Healer, Meditation Teacher, Content Writer, Spiritual writer. Machine Learning and Deep Learning.