Don’t read self-help, here’s why

Saurav Adh
3 min readMay 29, 2022
Image from pexels

Reading self-help books is a waste of time and I am going to exactly point out why. I have read lots of self-help books and implemented strategies and tools to improve my life. Even though self-help books have helped a lot in my personal development I suggest you not read those because of multiple reasons.

I am going to point out why it's a bad decision to pick up any self-help book.

They tell you why

Self-help books provide us with the reason behind our lack of understanding of our bad behaviors. I read this book by Anthony Robbins titled awaken the giant within, in this book Tony has decoded our behaviors and presents why we get habituated to bad habits. Other self-help books also present you with why for maybe procrastination, failure, unhappiness, or inconsistency.

Who likes being told and fiddled with the belief system. Self-help books provide you with the tools to eliminate bad habits from the root and this is painful and who likes pain, it’s relaxing to stay in the comfort zone, isn’t it?

They push you to be better

Imagine you being pushed every day to get disciplined, how would you feel? Wouldn’t you feel tired and exhausted with the same disciplined routine every day?

--

--

Saurav Adh

I write to share a view through my experiences, knowledge, and observation helping you for personal growth. e-book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0BSTQSSHP