How to build a wood dust collection system for beginners

Saurav Prakash
3 min readMay 3, 2020

In my last post, I shared how I carved up a Starbucks latte cup for a friend. It was great to see it finally done but the moment I looked back at my apartment, it was a horror movie indeed. My whole apartment was full of wood dust. My kitchen, my tables, sofa, rugs, even my bedroom which is separate from the damn living room where I craft. Let’s not even go to what happened to me afterward.

P.S. Hi! I carved up a few more miniatures. If interested in buying/supporting, here is link to my Etsy Shop https://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodCarvingBySasha

I got a 50-year old hair at the end

That took me a whole day to clean up the mess and left a bitter taste on this passion of mine. First I decided to switch to chisels and knives and not use my Dremel tool anymore. I actually ordered this new set from Amazon. But then thankfully I saw this video by The Newbie Woodworker Channel. First of all, thanks to him that I started looking into cheaper solutions. While I was walking back from my evening walk from the park, a light bulb switched on and I decided to build a very very simple (+cheap) dust collection system with my Ridgid 5.5 HP portable Vaccum which I am sharing with you all.

To test the efficiency, I decided to use the black shiny black surface of my food scale as well as the swimming glasses I have. These two are very shiny and black, so wood dust would be very visible on them.

I decided to use this small wood piece for carving/cutting/sanding up.

To create the dust collection setup I simply used the longer extension pipes that came with my Ridgid and duct-taped it on my working table. Nothing fancy here and the total cost is at most $5.

Continued….

To read about the results and my recommendations as well as pros and cons, please visit the link: https://www.woodcarvingbeginner.com/2020/05/how-to-build-wood-dust-collection.html

Thanks for reading :)

--

--