Don’t be afraid of change

Savannah Hayes
2 min readNov 29, 2021

--

Sometimes life is going to throw curveballs at you and all you can do is keep playing the game. To be honest I have never been the type of person who was 100% certain about what I wanted to do when I grew up. Instead, I was taking the time to discover what I liked and disliked.

Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

It wasn’t until I was forced to stop working and had time to really think about what I wanted to do with my life, that I thought I should give programming another chance. I attempted to major in computer science in college and it went well until we got to algorithms and object oriented programming, I was completely lost…

I would say that my coding journey has been amazing so far, even though it has been filled with failed attempts and disappointments. From having to change majors in college to most recently being asked to leave a program I loved. To be honest I wasn’t really ready to leave, but then something bigger happened. I realized I found what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.

“Sometimes our lives have to be completely shaken up, changed, and rearranged to relocate us to the place we are meant to be.” - Adrainne Hemenway

It can be hard to understand the purpose of challenges while you are in the middle of them, but once you take a step back and look at the things that led you to where you are today, you realize that those changes were necessary. This realization was big for me because I have never really given my future too much thought. To know that I have found what drives me and truly makes me happy is the greatest feeling. And this is just the beginning of my coding journey…

--

--