2021 “My year in Review”

Saviour Inyang
4 min readDec 31, 2021

--

Highlights for 2021

  • I got my first job with MatriksHub, and I’ve been working there for two months as a Visual Designer
  • I’ve also attended tech events such as DevfestUyo.
  • For GDSC Uniuyo, Cubbiccle, and other brands, I became the Design Team Lead.
  • I turned 19.🥂
  • My skills and income have both improved.⚡
  • I’d always wanted to be a Cowrywise Ambassador, and I’d finally gotten my wish. I was saved using them, and I must say, they have been a godsend!🥂
  • During my internships (HNG and KodeCamp) this year, I made some incredible friends. I’m pleased I got to meet them.

Today is the 31st day of this year, and I’m still suffering from another disease that nearly killed me, but God is thanked.

I’ve spent the last two years trying new things, challenging myself, adjusting to new norms, making new friends, losing old ones, quitting jobs, forming new relationships, taking on new challenges, breaking down, and getting back up.

Lesson Learned

There isn’t much that is difficult to learn. When I shifted down to Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop earlier this year, I took this belief with me. Because you’ve never done it before, it appears to be extremely complicated, difficult, and impossible.

When I started, I was like “Oh, this is difficult,” before I start learning something new, especially in my tech journey but now when I need to learn something new, I assure myself that it will end well.

Fortunately for me, I met sound minds like Joseph Atada, Rhoda Michael, Johanna Adeleke, Amanam Israel, Emmanuel Okon, and lots more I can’t mention here. They help me through my journey with creative criticism and advice. God will surely bless them.

Now to the Losses…

I started applying for design jobs after I finished my resume and portfolio.

I received a lot of rejection emails, but I’d grown accustomed to them.

My sister was diagnosed with an ulcer, and I was robbed of my phone and a large number of pals, but I’m delighted that things are starting to go back on track.

With so many rejection emails under my belt, I’ve learnt to persevere, learn from each event, and improve.

With all of my losses this year, I was glad to be able to learn from them.

Career

I began this year as a Graphics Designer, and I continue to be one, but there are significant differences.

I designed for a variety of brands, but I never took the time to hone my talents until approximately April, when I resolved to do so and am pleased with my progress.

To gain experience, I took the opportunity to revamp my Linkedin profile and begin working on personal projects and volunteer work.

It’s been incredible working with the LASJOL Media Team, TACN Field Media, and so many others.

Social Growth

In Uyo, I made some wonderful pals. Nothing earth-shattering, but I’m hoping to strengthen the majority of these friendships in the coming year.

Online:

  • Linkedin connections increased from 100 to 600 (this may not seem like much, but it’s given me the shock of my life how much I’ve been able to touch people’s lives this year with the little I do).
  • After considerable deliberation and consideration, I decided to post my portfolio.

Spiritually

Wow, this means a lot to me.

(I’m sure I haven’t mentioned this in this post.) I’m a student.

Despite this, I grew to be a devout member of my church and an excellent Chorister.

I told God earlier this year that if he continues to bless and keep my family, I will continue to shout praises to him.

I joined Harmonic Voices Chorale International to help me with my voice training, and I must say, I’ve come a long way.

I adore God, and he has been very gracious to me this year!

We’ll be back next year!

- — -

In 2022

I’ve learned a lot and grown into a better person over the last year.

My objectives have already been determined, and I’m asking God to assist me in achieving them.

Yes, it is a lengthy list, but I will complete it.

My biggest challenge?

Myself, My productivity suffers as a result of my inability to focus.

I’m looking for a productivity hack that will allow me to make better use of my time and be more productive throughout my working hours.

Please share any productivity tips you have.

Thank you very much.

Thank you

At this point, I’d like to express my gratitude to everyone who has assisted me in whatever way.

Overall, I had a fantastic year.

It was a fantastic experience, despite the losses, wins, and lessons learnt.

In the approaching year, I expect even more grandeur.

Greetings for the New Year!

--

--