Advice for Generation Z from a Savvy Millennial

Savannah Peterson
9 min readApr 9, 2018
Enjoying my 30th birthday, blue hair, body art and all.

I just turned 30. *Cue eye-roll.* I know, to kids I’m old, and to sage adults, I’m young. I’m in the meaty part of the sandwich in-between the wonder bread of youth and the cheese of middle age (yes, that’s a dad joke pun.) I remember pondering “30” when I was a teenager and always thinking it was “SO old.” I skipped third grade, finished college in under four years, and started my first company before I could legally drink. I’m used to being the youngest in the room. Lately, that’s started to change. Two weeks ago, I presented to a room of “Emerging Planners” in New Zealand. The “emerging” bit means they were all under 30… a realization I had on stage midway through my presentation. It visibly jarred me, yet I couldn’t help my laughter. It was a moment of tragic comedy, like much of life.

Presenting to the “Emerging Planners Congress” in New Zealand shortly before I realized I was the oldest in the room.

Honestly, I wasn’t sure I’d get here, 30 felt so far away at times. Starting a company at 20 is en vogue now, but was less chic 10 years ago. Early in my career I would let people believe whatever they wanted about my age. Not necessarily lying, but also not denying their over-estimation. When I became a Forbes 30 Under 30 at 27, my age was plastered everywhere. The secret was out! It was a relief. Three years…

--

--

Savannah Peterson

Trying to make the future less scary. Founder of Savvy Millennial, Forbes 30 Under 30, Speaker, Community Mgr, Dog Mom: https://youtube.com/c/SavvyMillennial