Karsten Tyson
3 min readDec 26, 2019

The red letters

Well…now that the gifts are opened, the Christmas hangover has worn off and some people have started Christmas tree deconstruction, guess what? It’s still Christmas!! The retail world had us ampted up on all things Christmas since November 1. Starbucks’ post-pumpkin spice “Merry Coffee” campaign and Macy’s “Believe in the wonder,” I surmise that we’re all kinda glad that the holiday crescendo has passed. On the flip side of our Yuletide fatigue ad nauseam, it’s only the second day of Christmas. Shout out to the two turtle doves. I often think of my family and friends during the holidays. My friend, play sister from another mister, contender of the faith and personal chaplain, Hershey is no different. Those Hershaletta-KT antics are something else, glorified bickering at best.

Hershey is an episcopal priest. She was ordained summer of 2016 at Trinity Episcopal Church on Wall Street in Manhattan. I may be biased, but Hershey is a kickass priest, slay minister and Queen of Episcopal Badassery. Even to this day, whenever Hershey has to preach, she will periodically run her sermons by me for input, sometimes with less than 10 hours before preaching time. I guess this is one of those unspoken duties that your brother from another mother has to contend with. One day last year was one of those times. She was living and working in Bethesda, Maryland. It was a Saturday afternoon/evening, Hershey calls. I answered, immediately she goes “Honey, I gotta preach tomorrow and this here gospel though…” I said “Oh, lemme grab my bible and see what we working with.” Keep in mind, I’m a Deacon School dropout and ain’t took nobody’s homiletics class. Heck, I barely made it through early church history.

I can’t remember the scripture, it was in one of the gospels, but Jesus was in a super snarky mood and quick with the clapbacks for his listeners. For the record, I love snarky, clapback Jesus. Hershey and I immediately dubbed JC King of the Clapbacks. But out of nowhere, not sure if it was after having had two glasses Cabernet, or…that at times I can think quickly on my feet. I told Hershey “Hersh, you see those red words?” Hersh was like “yeah.” I said “Jesus said that. So what he said then, he’s still saying now. I mean…you know he’s not dead, right?” She said “You know, you’re right.” Long story short, she preached, threw in jokes and clapbacks when appropriate, the people laughed and were blessed. All was well.

Whether you look at today as the Day after Christmas, Boxing Day, Keysha and Chrissie’s birthday, the First Day of Kwanzaa, The Feast of St. Stephen (Deacon and first martyr of the Church) or the winding down of Hanukkah, I say to you what I said to Hershey a little over a year ago “What Jesus said to them then, he’s saying to us now.” Whatever word you need, be it “Blessed are they that mourn. Be of good cheer, your faith has made you well. Arise, and fear not. If you can believe, all things are possible. I came that you might have life and have it more abundantly. or Let not your hearts be troubled.” Those words are as relevant to us now, as they were to the ones who originally heard them. “Be of good cheer, your faith has made you well.” Grace and Christmastide blessings unto you.

#Selah

Karsten Tyson

Educator, College Admissions Official and Ambassador for fair and equal access to higher education. North Carolina raised, Louisiana made, Georgia fortified.