Karsten Tyson
3 min readJun 3, 2020

Whew Lawd!

Photo Credit: The New Yorker

Often when my Nana was just exhausted beyond relief or befuddled by nonsense or foolery, she would exclaim. “Whew Lawd!” That’s exactly where I am right now. Whew Lawd! There just does not seem to be enough adequate words to convey or articulate thoughts. I know I’ve been stammering in disbelief for a hot minute. Even in my meditation and reflection time this morning, the only prayer that I could muster up was “Help, Lord. I just cannot. Thank you. Amen.” Y’all, 2020 has shown us her entire backside. Hope you enjoyed the view. We’ve not even crossed the halfway mark.

But yet, somehow, my faith and hope keep pushing me to believe that everything will be ok. I have been fortunate enough to have former students check on me, text or call, to see if their #ForeverProfe is okay. I have had allies call, and text to let me know that they stand with me in the struggle. That truly takes courage. I am blessed to have a boss that is sensitive to the fact and acknowledge that the last 8 days have been hellishly harrowing at best. He did not assume that we could work as if these were normal times and we would be unphased in our work. With bleeding hearts and torn emotions, along with a desire to serve our prospective students and their families, we were affirmed with two simple words “You matter.”

Each one of us has a series of vignettes which contribute to the Pandemic Chronicles. Even in the midst of this craziness and warring madness, you may find yourself both at a loss for words and an assurance that everything will be ok. I told a former student and advisee today. “Listen. We all have work to do. Keep standing up for what’s right. Listen and embrace the stories of others. Speak out and advocate when necessary and call out the bullshit as Profe would.” I always try to tell my students I’m proud of you, every chance I get. They never get too old to hear it.

Listen, these streets is hot. Literally, smoldering with boarded up storefronts and other precautionary measures. As most of the country reopened, we get slapped with a quarantined curfew because some folk just don’t know how to act and as my Grandpa James would say “they ain’t got the sense God gave a Billy goat.” This is an age of incredulity for our generation, hopefully to never be repeated in the history of ever ever.

I saw this posted on Instagram (xstylez06) today — take comfort in these words. Because I just ain’t got none and I’m fresh out of “Kumbaya My Lord.”

Some are posting on social media
Some are protesting in the streets
Some are donating silently
Some are educating themselves
Some are having tough conversations with friends and family
A revolution has many lanes — be kind to yourself and to others who are traveling in the same direction
Just keep your foot on the gas

Whew Lawd! We gon’ be aight.

#Selah

Karsten Tyson

Educator, College Admissions Official and Ambassador for fair and equal access to higher education. North Carolina raised, Louisiana made, Georgia fortified.