I Am The Party

Sara Balaban
5 min readJan 24, 2023

--

On the surface, the words surf, yoga, and beer may seem trivial, but when the commas and spaces are deleted between each, the perspective dramatically shifts, and the weight of those words drastically changes. At least, that’s what happened when I experienced these words in action during a recent trip to Nicaragua. Enter SurfYogaBeer (SYB), a worldwide adventure and fitness travel company that curates dynamic group experiences that hone in on building community in unique destinations through physical fitness and, of course, tons of fun activities with like-minded people. Free of judgment and maximum age restrictions, the only requirements are a thirst for adventure and simply being ready to let down your guard and have a good time.

Upon the start of this trip, I was relieved to immediately learn that you don’t have to be a soul surfer, a consistent yogi, or even drink beer to enjoy an experience like this, as it caters to just about anyone with a hint of curiosity, a willingness to be open, and is inclusive of different backgrounds and fitness levels. Before my first SYB adventure, I hadn’t surfed before, and I probably hadn’t tried doing a pull-up since my required annual physical fitness tests in high school. As I paddled the waves on the surfboard for the first time, raised my chin above that metal bar during my first set of pull-ups, and whipped my blue-haired wig back and forth during an epic wig party, I started to experience different versions of my confidence shining through. I discovered that some of my confidence may have been dormant up until that point, and as I continued to challenge myself, I felt empowered and refreshed.

I pushed myself to try things I probably wouldn’t take the time to do in my typical day-to-day routine, and I shared honest words with strangers about fears and uncertainties. I felt content, present, and accountable for showing up for myself, all things that can sometimes feel neglected when caught up in the monotony of daily life. I started to see a fuller version of myself, and this was all just on day one. While others may have walked away from this experience having gained different notes of appreciation, I’m grateful for connecting to the concept that I don’t have to be the life of the party because I am the party in my own way.

“I am the party.” Woah. When those words were spoken during a sunset yoga session, they struck a chord. The phrase sounded a little silly at first, but as I kept pressing rewind and play on that sentence, I visualized the best, most confident version of myself pushing open a set of double doors, not second-guessing myself and believing that I do have that main character energy.

This experience encouraged vulnerability in the best way and has gifted me with some great tools to help me continue believing that I am the party. And, if, for some reason, doubt creeps in, I’ll revisit these memories like ones from the most beautiful tear-jerking receiving line and look through the lens of my peers to see myself again. After all, sometimes, the perspective of others may be the clearest lens to use to see yourself.

Despite experiencing two different versions of SYB (one week of no work and all play, followed by two unexpected weeks on the remote trip, balancing work and play), one theme carried through that felt distinct to SYB. Show up, be yourself, try something new, and believe you offer something unique and special.

So what were my takeaways that inspired me to book another SYB adventure?

✨Wearing colorful wigs and glitter is empowering and possibly even more fun during adulthood.

👶🏻Overthinking wastes time and takes you away from the moment. Think back to your earlier years, and like a kid, don’t think, just do. (Disclaimer, consider giving some thought before abruptly quitting your job.) 😉

🫂Everyone is looking for connection, and we’re likely never alone in feeling certain ways about the things we’re experiencing. Be proud of yourself for being open with yourself and others.

💪🏻The limit to our mental and physical strength stretches beyond where we think it stops.

🎤Don’t be afraid to take the first step to dance or grab the mic at karaoke. Others will likely want to join in on the fun.

🧨You are a firecracker in your own way. No matter how big or small, your spark can become a flame and change everything.

😎If ever you feel that imposter syndrome, ask yourself, “what would confident me do?” Then do that.

🏆There are different metrics for success, and finding ways to have fun and try new things on the road to get there is imperative.

🎉You are the party, and whatever type of party you offer, be sure to embrace that fully, and if needed, don’t be afraid to throw on some glitter and a wig to help you reach your complete (party) potential.

I realize that everyday “real life” may not include wearing wigs, having time for 500 ab exercises (and then some), dancing on a boat, or singing karaoke, but maybe tiny bits of activities like these can help relight your spark or, perhaps, make the days feel more like living. If you’re looking for a new way to jumpstart your fitness journey, your friends are not the dancing, wig-wearing types, or the concept of waking up and feeling like you’re really living has resonated with you; there are several upcoming SYB trips to explore. One of these adventures may be just what you need to escape the predictability of routine, meet new friends, and open yourself up to new experiences to help you hit that refresh button and achieve revitalization.

--

--

Sara Balaban

Recruiter turned Employer Brand enthusiast who enjoys uncovering unique stories & being a people advocate in and out of the workplace. Oh, & I love to travel!