On church-burnings…and being an asshole.

Ståle
2 min readDec 25, 2017

--

25 years ago, in the early morning of December 24th, 1992, Åsane Kirke (Åsane Church) was torched to the ground by Kristian Vikernes. Kristian (whose name, all things considered, is ironic on the context of things), also known by nicknames such as Burzum; Count Grishnac; and Varg Vikernes, was a talented musician in Norway’s blossoming Black/Death metal scene and apparently nothing was more metal than torching churches.

Unfortunately, this was not an isolated event. Bergen, my hometown, also lost Fantoft Stavkirke, a several hundreds years old, and in the years between 1992 and 1996, almost 17 churches were torched or attempted torched. These days, words like domestic terrorism would have been thrown around. Back then, confusion reigned as the Norwegian Church, the police and the politicians had no idea what they were up against.

Åsane Kirke was my home away from home and we grew up in our congregation. It was, and still is, the largest Lutheran congregation in the country and I was involved in youth ministry from when I was an 8yr old little snotty choir-boy until I departed for the US in 1995 as one of the senior youth leaders.

My father either the leader or vice-leader of the church council, and got the phone call soon after the Senior Paster was notified by the fire department, around 3:30AM. I remember being woken up, dad taking off, and picked us up a little bit later.

The sight was unlike anything you’ll ever see. Regardless of your religious affiliation (or lack thereof), a place of worshop or solitiude isn’t one you want to see smoldering due to the intentional actions of adversaries.

25 years later I still reflect back on that night and I’ve later concluded that my mission in life isn’t to worry about labels, political or religious leanings any longer. It’s too polarizing and I’ve decided to simply focus my time and energy on not being an asshole.

I want to go through life knowing that decisions are made because you want to do good. The beautiful thing is that you know when assholery is made and when you are making decisions as an asshole.

Kristian Vikernes was an asshole. Don’t be like Kristian.

Post-script: Below is a link to NRK (National Norwegian Broadcasting Company)’s article with a video embedded from that night 25 years ago.

https://www.nrk.no/hordaland/soknepresten_-_-_greven_-oppnadde-noyaktig-det-motsatte-av-det-han-ville-1.13839063

--

--