My introduction into the Final Fantasy Universe.

SCellsGaming
2 min readMay 19, 2024

Rating:8.5/10

In 2016, Square enix came out with the 15th installment in Its Final Fantasy series. I don’t know much about previous titles in the series, but I do know that FF15 was the first final fantasy to not take a turn-based approach to its combat. As a frequent JRPG player at this point, I understand that is the standard for these kinds of games, but I don’t know if a turn-based ff15 would’ve hooked me like the one we actually got. The open world, the visuals and the characters were all great to me and that’s why the game is one of my favorite games of all time. The best parts of the game to me though were the monster hunting and the cooking feature that made camping actually something worth doing. It was a great 80+ hour journey that I honestly wish I could experience again but it is what it is. Aside from my praises, there are a few gripes I had with the game. Like the fact that I felt absolutely no connection to lunafreya at all or that after the events of altissia the game just falls into a deep spiral of despair. I was blessed enough to play the royal edition of the game so I can’t even imagine how bad things must have been on release. Anyway though, after I pushed myself to chapter 10, I played all the DLC’s and attempted to finish the game, but I was unsuccessful due to being spoiled about a certain characters’ death at the end of the game. So, to top off my playthrough, I just created a head canon that the Ignis ending (in his dlc) was the best ending for me. After that I haven’t picked the game up again.

P.S.

The comrades DLC was actually fun to play but It’s a game that requires cooperation to get through it and by the time I got to the DLC nobody was playing it anymore. So, I never got to experience being an original character in the FF15 universe in its entirety. Pain.

--

--

SCellsGaming
0 Followers

Gamer/Writer/Streamer/Businessman.....