Twelve Minutes Review

Artem Shein
5 min readFeb 15, 2023

--

*MFG = My First Game

For those who are new to MFG serie, I have previously written about my plans to create my own game. You can read more about it in previous posts:

1. Hello World
2. It’s Alive
3. Dive into the Numbers: Uncovering Game Industry Insights and Statistics
4. Discoveries and inspiration

Well, well, well.

Look who we have here. You stumbled upon my post, didn’t you? Out of all the thousands of posts on Medium today, you just had to like mine. I wonder what it was that piqued your interest. Maybe you’re the one who truly gets me, who understands the fire that burns within me.

Don’t be afraid, it’s just me. I’ve been watching you, and I couldn’t resist speaking directly to you. You see, I have a habit of fixating on certain individuals, getting inside their heads, and making them mine. But don’t worry, you have nothing to fear. As long as you stay on my good side, we can continue to have this connection. Who knows where it might lead us?

All right, I’m just kidding after watching the new season of YOU on Netflix 😊

Let’s recap. As previously stated, I plan to dedicate time to playing and researching games for inspiration for my own game idea. Today, I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the first game I’ve played, “Twelve Minutes”.

Twelve Minutes — Wikipedia

As a player, I have to warn that this review may contain some spoilers, although I will not reveal any major story points.

“Twelve Minutes” is a unique and suspenseful interactive thriller that was developed by only one person — Luís António. He began his career at Rock Star and Ubisoft, where he worked on AAA projects that were both challenging and rewarding. However, after a while, he grew tired of the demanding nature of working on these massive projects and decided to go down the indie route. It was here that he was able to fully unleash his creativity and bring his vision to life. You can learn more about Luís watching his interview on Youtube.

One of the most striking aspects of Twelve minutes is its intricate plot, which is told through a mechanic of reliving the same moment over and over again. The player is tasked with solving a mystery that unfolds over the course of twelve minutes, and each playthrough reveals new information and perspectives that bring the player closer to the truth. The feeling of being caught up in a never-ending loop, similar to movies like “Groundhog Day,” “Palm Springs,” and “Edge of Tomorrow,” adds to the sense of being tight in time for each “episode”, with only ten minutes of real time, that really stressed me as a player and added to the immersion of my experience. I would love to thank Luís for creating such a brain trick that heightened my enjoyment of the game.

The game’s use of real-time mechanics adds an extra layer of intensity, as the player must make quick decisions that can have lasting consequences on the outcome of the story. The realistic character animations and voice acting, performed by professional actors such as Willem Dafoe, James McAvoy, and Daisy Ridley, also contribute to the feeling of being fully involved in the game.

And finally the atmosphere — it feels close to our real world. The game takes place in a small, ordinary apartment and features a tired man returning home from work. The player can sense the warmth and celebration of family life as they explore the game’s various elements. The attention to detail in creating a believable and relatable world helps to draw the player in and make the game’s events feel all the more impactful.

Pic from Steam

Overall, “Twelve Minutes” is a thrilling and thought-provoking game that can leave players feeling both satisfied and frustrated. One potential issue with the game is that players quickly understand certain plot twists and mechanics, but are then forced to spend a lot of time repeating scripted events in order to progress the story. This can be a point of frustration for players, and may be reflected in some negative reviews of the game.

What makes it even more interesting is that the game was published by Annapurna Interactive. This publisher is known for bringing some of my most beloved games to the market, including Hohokum, Maquette, I Am Dead, The Unfinished Swan, Kentucky Route Zero: TV Edition, Telling Lies, Journey, Gone Home, Donut County, What Remains of Edith Finch and many more. This fact has undoubtedly caught my attention, inspiring me to pursue a relationship with Annapurna Interactive. If I manage to succeed with the game and create a playable build, it’s definitely worth considering connecting with them to bring my vision to a wider audience.

Pic from https://mspoweruser.com/heres-the-annapurna-interactive-showcase/

That’s all for today. Taking notes about the games you play can help you gain a deeper appreciation for them and also serve as a helpful reference in the future. Recording information such as the publishers, ratings, awards, revenue, and other key details can help you compare and contrast different games and understand their place in the gaming landscape. I’m looking forward to hearing about your experiences and what you learn from your gaming journey.

Have fun exploring!

--

--

Artem Shein

Project Leader with 10+ Years in tech. Talking about Game Development, Building Teams, Leadership and Entertainment industry