Helping is super-duper easy. (Nice Flex, Bro! Part 1)

Steve Cleanbrook
3 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

Some of you reading this might have read my article “Nice flex, bro!”. If you haven’t; that’s okay. I’ll do a small reference here and there, and then, if I’ve piqued your interest you might check it out!

A while back I had the chance to join the Solana Collective. It’s a group of developers, artists, community managers, builders and power users of the Solana ecosystem. Every week we have a meeting, this could be an AMA, presentation, games night, or just a talk on what we’re building.

One of the other collective members, let’s call him Marvynx, shared pictures and a report on him giving a presentation or class about Solana to people interested in Nigeria. Other members and me were quite impressed by the topics that were discussed.

Marvynx and I got talking, and somehow the subject of the conversation landed on him not having the resources to teach his students properly. In “Nice flex, bro!” I wrote about feeling somewhat out of place during the lush parties of Breakpoint. If blockchain technology is to be used to improve everyone’s life, why not start here, today? I wish to bring more attention to charity, local and global well-being in the ecosystem. Having this attitude I immediately got thinking on how to get him what he needs. (The “How can I help?”-approach from the hit-series “New Amsterdam”)

My day-job involves working with a Chromebook, and one thing I’ve noticed is that a lot of good machines tend to get replaced. I decided to find the person in charge of this department and straight up ask if I could get my hands on some used Chromebooks to send to Nigeria. Joost and Jermain helped me big time and when I asked them for help they said yes!

Fresh, used, good as new Chromebooks!

So after the machines got cleaned (both inside and out) I now have a big box with 10 laptops. How to get them to Nigeria safely? I decided to be brazen again and reach out to a local packaging dealership in my hometown! (Big shoutout to Wim Esser from Esser Verpakkingsmateriaal in Tilburg!) They agreed to help me package the goods for safe transport! This is now starting to take serious shape!

After that all that was left was shipping. This was the part that was the hardest to be honest. I’m not very good at letting go. As you’re reading this the package is either on it’s way, or arrived (somewhere, hopefully with Marvynx!).

So why am I writing an article on this? Is it to show the world what a good guy I am? Is it to tell others what to do? It might come across that way, but what I’m hoping to achieve is the following;
I hope others will realise how easy it is to help others. I hope to show that when you’re in a position to help others you should. Imagine changing some kids life this way.

My plans for my project, “Nice Flex, Bro!” are still work in progress. At least I hope to have a partner and a ton of help from the Solana Collective! What I need is readers like you to share this message, to show that the Solana blockchain has a chance to, and already is tying us all together! A follow and some support for this project would go a long way as well! We Are One. Imagine changing some kids life this way.

Lastly; Imagine changing some kids life this way. Please keep an eye out for Part 2, I’m hoping to co-write an article with Marvynx, when and if he gets the package! Imagine changing some kids life this way.

--

--