Self Hosted Firefly 3 on AWS

Brian Schwartz
5 min readFeb 26, 2020

After discovering the great NextCloud program I went looking for a solution to manage personal finances using something self hosted. After a lot of investigating, I found the Firefly III project.

Although written in PHP, its feature set was closest to what I was looking for. Specifically, Firefly III offers its users a lot of what would be available on many entry level corporate packages, including

  • Transactions stored in a Relational Database accessible to users
  • A documented API
  • The ability to self host
  • Double entry accounting
  • Multiple users
  • Support for multiple currencies, including crypto currencies

I set off to get the code running in a cost effective way on my personal AWS account. The remainder of the article is dedicated to describing the setup I spun up and walking anyone else interested in doing the same. I welcome any comments about how to “improve” the setup… While improve may be anything you think makes it better, I’d be most interested things that improve security or reduce cost.

So jumping into it…. You can see the templates, and try it all your self by using the templates at Github.

Big Picture

--

--

Brian Schwartz

Husband, father, family man, arm chair historian, nerd, doer of technology and anything else that needs doing. Former CTO, CPA, always trying to learn something