Doctor Who Diaries— Earthshock Part 1

SciFi Continuums
4 min readJul 12, 2024
Military men searching for clues (Earthshock Part 1)

The Cybermen return after a fair few years away in “Earthshock”, although the initial story tried to hide this fact to make it a surprise. We find ourselves on Earth in the far future, although the scene is a series of caverns and countryside so the only hint of this being the future is the military gear. We soon get to see a spaceship though, and, of course, more future tech!

This is the time of the Fifth Doctor (Peter Davison), who is currently travelling through time and space with three companions: Tegan, Nyssa, and Adric. In this report though, we begin from the point of view of guest character Professor Kyle.

Professor Kyle: Missing person’s report

I radioed for military assistance as soon as I escaped the tunnels. I fear its too late though. The rest of them are probably dead. I might well be the only survivor. I’m in shock, I think, but I try to act as a professional, as I’ve been trained to do. There had been eight of us in total. A combination of palaeontologists, like me, and geologists. We were surveying the cave system which had recently been found to contain a whole gold mine of fossils. Lieutenant Scott and his team set…

--

--

SciFi Continuums

Sci-Fi TV, Movies, comics, and books from a UK perspective. Writes about scifi fiction, and with an interest in continuity and canon