5 Tips to Avoid the Working Rut

David J. Meyer
6 min readMay 15, 2019

I enjoy my job. I feel blessed to be able to enjoy my job. So many people I talk to always hate their job, feel tired, done, just want the weekend to be here. But I enjoy it. Now, I am not crazy either. I definitely enjoy a healthy work life balance and thoroughly enjoy all my hobbies and after work activities. I love roasting coffee, wood working projects, going out with church friends, and have really training in Krav Maga.

I definitely have days or even weeks where I just feel drained too. I am not perfect. But I have found some tricks that have helped me stay focused and excited about my work. The last thing I want is to find myself in a rut of just punch in, punch out, as if those 8 hours didn’t even exist. As if I wake up and “go to sleep” again. I just wanted to share 5 things that have been absolutely transformative for me to have a super productive day at work. None of these are new things at all. I’m sure you have all heard them before. But I just wanted to give everyone my experience. So much stuff on the internet is someone’s opinion or if you are lucky enough some good facts. However, I am a big advocate of experience for learning. I do this in my development work too. I can’t just read documentation and know the code; I have to jump in and start breaking things. I have to get that full experience. So here are my experiences:

1) My 3zzz. Checklist success in an agile world.

In an agile development world it is really hard to get that feeling of completion. That is the whole point of agile. You never stop developing. You are never complete. This poses an issue for me. I really love that feeling of finishing something or crossing something off. This is why I create my 3zzz list every morning. Basically, after some quiet time with a cup of coffee I write down at least 3 things I want to accomplish at work and 3 things I want to accomplish after work. Some days I have more than 3 if I need to get a lot done. They can be quick things like “finalize and deliver code change” or “go on a run”. Or more time consuming things like “go to dmv.” Whatever it may be, it helps drive my day towards specific goals and gets me ready to work. And at the end of the day I can look back and cross whatever I accomplished off and feel like I lived a successful day.

2) Working Out. Gets the Blood Pumping.

This is especially great if done early in the morning. This is hard to do and I can’t do it every single day. But I can honestly say the days I wake up at 5am and make it to the gym before work are the days I feel the sharpest, most awake, and most excited to get stuff done. I prefer working out in the morning; however, sometimes I can’t get up or have other activities in the morning. On those days, working out after work is also great. This helps give me a time to shut my brain down, recharge, but also feel re-energized after work and ready to tackle whatever else I need to do for the rest of the day.

3) Healthy Eating Habits. Water with Coffee.

This goes hand in hand with working out. After I graduated from college and began working I realized I could afford more than boxed mac n cheese and frozen pizzas. I can buy food that is actually good for me. And I can honestly say it makes a huge difference! I feel better, more awake, sharper, and basically all the benefits I listed from working out. One new trick I have done is actually with my coffee. I tend to go to coffee when I feel tired or need a pick me up. However, I have realized nothing wakes me up more than a cold refreshing glass of water. Now, don’t get me wrong…I still love sipping on coffee because it is delicious and soothing! However, what I do now is that every-time I want another coffee, I drink a cold glass of water first. Super simple. Super easy. It wakes me up and makes sure I get the right amount of water I need every day.

4) Going on a Walk. Fresh air.

I work at a desk. Sitting at a desk for 8 hours is miserable. No matter how much I enjoy the work it is still miserable. What I do to combat this involves a few things. First, I really love nature; I love camping and just seeing the beautiful creation out there. So, a great 5 minute break for me is to just walk outside, breathe in some fresh air, and go back to work. The other thing I have noticed is that some time after lunch I tend to get pretty tired. A pretty common phenomenon. Sometimes a 5 minute walk won’t cut it. However, a short drive back home so I can work in a change of scenery does wonders! I can put on some comfier clothes and take a small break. Then I can get right back to work for the remaining hours.

5) Doing things Outside of Work.

Taking part in extracurricular activities takes my mind off work and makes me more excited to get back to it the next day. When I go a long time without thinking of something, it tends to drive my excitement to get back to it. My mind is fresher too. If I am ever stuck on a problem at the end of a work day but get to blow off steam at krav maga later that night, then chances are the following morning I will have a solid approach to the issue I was working on.

That’s it. Short and sweet. Again, nothing new here. Just giving you all some of my experiences that have helped me make the best of my time, keep my mind sharp, and enjoy life to the fullest.

~ May God Bless You in Your Journeys

--

--

David J. Meyer

Husband. Writer. Founder of Biblit. Creator of short stories, poetry, blogs, and more. More info at: davidjmeyer.press