The Big 5 Exercises and What They Miss

Scott Shattuck - Idearat
The Workout Vector
Published in
8 min readDec 19, 2018

--

Big 7 Muscle/Exercise Chart

I’ve been working out in gyms, pools, and other facilities on and off my entire life. In the early days I’d just follow along with whatever program a trainer or coach put in front of me but, being who I am, I eventually found myself wanting to learn a lot more about how my body really worked.

My first serious step in learning more about how to work out properly was to get my International Sports Sciences Association (ISSA) personal training certification. I didn’t want to become a trainer, I just wanted to work out “smarter” so I could get results with less risk and less wasted motion.

When I took my certification class it was taught by none other than Tom Platz, former Mr. Olympia competitor and the bodybuilder considered by many to have the best leg development of all time. It was an amazing experience being able to learn the science behind muscle development from one of the true pioneers of modern bodybuilding. Tom’s “Dare to dream!” still resonates.

My ISSA certification course covered a wide range of subjects, how the body responds to exercise-induced stress, how the various components of muscle tissue work, and a host of other things related to exercise…

--

--