Day 182: Homing Missile, Part 1.

Scott Sourile
2 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Today, I will be discussing my process for creating the homing missle. I am taking a break from the final boss so I can have at least one victory before the completion of my project. Since I kind of figured out how to do the homing missile by accident in another part of the project, I decided this task could wait until after the boss battle, which has been as time consuming as I expected. So I will focus on this part of the framework for now.

As a reminder, this will follow my “information in chunks” method.

Objective: Create a Homing Missile projectile through a rare powerup.

Quick note: I won’t be going through creating a power up in its entirety. If you need a refresher, or this is your first time, feel free to see my shield power up article. I have several others up for you to look through as well.

Okay, first thing’s first: Creating the prefab. Of course, this doesn’t have to be first, you might want to work on the code first, but it’s easier to test the code when you have the gameObjects.

I pulled another couple of power up prefab and ammo prefabs I already had in my folder. The colors make it hard to see the projectile in the scene view, so I am showing you what I see in the Game view. In the center is what I’m going to use for the projectile. To the right of that is the sprite I will use for the power up.

I adjusted the colors of the power up so it’s distinguishable from the others as they are similar.

Next, we had the rigid body and collider (2D). Now, all I need to do is create and add the script. That will be tomorrow.

--

--