I am Putting on My Tinfoil Hat

Scott Frady
3 min readDec 11, 2016

--

I would like to go on record as saying that today I am a conspiracy theorist. It’s not my fault. Frank Underwood… I mean Donald Trump is making it too easy.

I don’t want to be, but how could I not. I will just say it. I believe that Donald Trump purposely colluded with the Russians to get himself elected. Just like all other conspiracy theories, I can’t prove it. But there is a strong suggestion there.

First for me is that they are protesting too much. Reice Prebus was apoplectic on Meet the Press demanding Chuck Todd name one on the record source that proves Russia interfered in the election. This is funny since the source is the CIA. It is 17 other security agencies who have said not only did the Russians interfere they did so in order to elect Donald Trump. These are not unnamed sources. This is not some whistle blower. These are reports issued by agencies representing dozens of agents who have worked on the investigation.

Second, The Trump machine is shooting the messenger. Trump fired off a tweet accusing the CIA of incompetence. Instead of saying they would call for a full investigation, they have decided to discredit those who have been investigating. That’s not something you do when you have nothing to hide, unless you are spectacularly incompetent. Which is also a possibility.

Third, there are so many ties to Russia and the regime of Vladimir Putin. They are too numerous to mention. But the most disturbing to me is Trumps choice for Secretary of State. Here is a man who has a close working relationship with Putin. He even received Russia’s highest civilian honor. It is not far fetched to believe he will have Russia’s best interests in mind.

Finally, there is the gang of twelve, particularly Mitch McConnell. When the Obama administration presented this nonpartisan group the evidence they’d garnered and requested they go forward with a joint statement, Senator McConnell refused to accept the evidence and threatened to use it as a political weapon against the democrats.

If all this is true, we may be on the verge of becoming a de facto client state of Russia, a nation not known for its civil rights record. We have elected a leader in the same mold who dislikes protesters and foreigners and essentially anyone else with brown skin.

Taken all together it tells a story even more sinister than anything Frank Underwood has done on House of Cards. Conspiracy theory? Yes. Fake news? No. Wishful thinking? Possibly. But there is enough circumstantial evidence that warrants a full investigation. If it’s proven there was serious tampering, the results of this election should be nullified and new elections held. I really believe that. I don’t think it will happen but it should.

Maybe I’m reading too much into this. Maybe I’m grasping at straws. But what if it’s True? What if it’s true?

--

--

Scott Frady

Recovering baptist, political hobbiest, spiritual novice, and master of opinions no one asked for.