I’m not confident in my website’s written content. What should I do? [3 next steps]

Scott Ostrander
4 min readJan 19, 2018

--

The written content of your website is the foundation for it’s success or failure.

Are you confident in your words?

I ask myself this often. And you should too.

If you lack confidence in your website’s written content, you are not alone. Take courage because there are some next steps available to bolster it. You can ask for feedback, hire a copywriter, or study competitors. I recommend at least the first one. But doing all three will yield the best results!

Ask For Feedback From A Customer, A Friend, And A Family Member

Feedback is powerful. And it’s a great next step if you lack confidence in your written content. Besides pointing out areas for improvement, it will give you another perspective. You’ll learn a person’s thought process after they experience your website. There is so much value in this!

The ideal person to ask is a customer. After all, they are looking for whatever product or service you have. When you ask them, be sure to use language that comes from a place of openness and curiosity. Everyone knows that we all have room to grow. Your sincere questions will show you care and result in valuable insights.

Asking for feedback from a friend and family member is helpful too. They’ll be more biased because they have a closer relationship with you. But don’t let that stop you from getting actionable feedback. Be upfront with them that you need honesty and specificity. If they provide feedback along those lines, you’ll be much better off.

Hire A Copywriter

You may not like it, but investing your hard earned money into written content will pay off. Copywriters exist to generate persuasive words that influence people to take action. Although they don’t know your business like you do, they have a skill set that delivers results. So it’s wise to consider investing something into the words of a solid copywriter.

Copywriters rely on at least 4 skills to create persuasive content. They understand an audience, research keywords, analyze competition, and employ different writing styles. Each skill combined with their experience offers effective copy for websites and more.

If you decide to hire a copywriter, make sure to be curious. Ask why throughout your collaboration. But don’t be overbearing. As you learn from what they create, you’ll gain confidence to write better content. I’m a believer in asking questions. You should be too! So get curious and learn from your copywriter.

Study Competitors Written Content

Competition analysis is a great next step if you lack confidence in your words. When you study competitors in your industry, you’ll gain perspective and ideas. It’s likely you’ll see good, bad, and ugly written content with a large enough search. Use what you find to teach yourself what content is valuable and persuasive.

Be careful to maintain originality as you apply what you’ve learned. Don’t copy. But speak from your unique voice and write in your own style. By exposing yourself to other’s words, you might become overwhelmed. To overcome this, stay focused on the purpose and target market of your website.

One approach to learning from this step involves a series of three questions. During your study, first ask how the words made you feel. What emotions did you experience? After this, ask what you were compelled to do. What is the call to action? Finally, ask if it’s sharable. Who else might receive value from this?

Take Your Next Step

As a web designer, I’m constantly experimenting with the words I write for my website. I know I have room to grow, so I take steps to improve my written content so that I’m confident in my website. After all, it represents me and my business.

In light of this, I challenge you to take your next step. Doing so will help you become more confident in your written content. The easiest step might be hiring a copywriter. But it’s also going to cost something. If you don’t want to go that route, you can ask for feedback and study competitors. Whether you do one of these or all three, it’s likely your confidence will rise.

Thanks for reading my words! In addition to web design posts, I write about life design and topics I find interesting. If you’re curious, check out some of my recent posts:

If this post was meaningful for you, share some love by applauding, sharing your response, or forwarding it to a friend. Thank you!

--

--