Water Ficus

Scott Lan
2 min readMar 23, 2016

--

This is the brief story of my little ficus at work. I’ve had this little bugger going now for probably 6 or 7 years. He has a buddy that lives amongst the branches, and another who makes his home amongst the roots. It’s the perfect little ecosystem.

Shitty Office Cube Ficus Fancy Graphic

How do you like the backdrop? thats the view all day in my cubicle… isn’t it super shitty… er, great?! ← wheres the strikethrough font I need here, Medium?!

Samson II keeps the water full of good nutrients for the ficus, and in turn the ficus keeps the water clean for Samson II. They live in harmony most of time, and the only care I have to give is to feed Samson II once or twice a week, and change the water maybe once a year. Win-Win-Win… That is, until Samson II dies, in which case, he loses; but the ficus and I continue to win.

I have pruned this guy here and there over the years… maybe 2 or three times, only taking off a few leaves or little chutes here and there; while also cutting back the tangle of very quick growing roots. This time I decided to cut all the leaves off. What fun! hope it’s not too drastic and the little guy survives. We shall see… Cross your fins Samson II.

--

--

Scott Lan

Just another nerd, on the internets. Lover of little trees & life.