A Slightly Awkward Job Interview

Spoiler alert: We’d met before

Scott Muska
P.S. I Love You
Published in
8 min readApr 23, 2019

--

Photo by Charles 🇵🇭 on Unsplash

She walks into the room, sits down, pulls out a cheap pen with a bank’s company logo on it, smiles, says “Sell this to me.”

I almost shit myself and immediately begin sweating much more than I normally do during job interviews, which is not an insignificant amount. I just barely restrain myself from letting out an “Aweeee, fuck me.”

I wonder if the bank that shills those pens is one of the clients I’d be working on if I joined the team. I table that thought because I’m at the point where I’ll work on whatever, pretty much — even if it’s dull and makes me feel a little dirty.

Maybe especially then.

I’m in a weird place.

“We’ll get to that,” she says, nodding at the pen. “How have you been?”

I nod the affirmative at nothing, avoid eye contact for a few seconds, suck it up, stop looking down and finally meet her gaze. I force a smile.

She remembers.

I was hoping she wouldn’t remember.

I can’t recall a time when I wished harder that someone didn’t remember me.

“Can’t complain, really.”

“Really.”

--

--

Scott Muska
P.S. I Love You

I write books (for fun), ads (for a living) and some other stuff (that I often put on the internet).