Where is Home, Anyway?

Brooke Pérez
3 min readMay 30, 2023

Along with my health challenges, there has been a lot going on in my home life. That is putting it very mildly. I am very embarrassed to admit this, but I am actually in the process of being evicted. It’s extremely, well, yes, embarrassing. It started back in November, when my mother had a hip replacement. I had to stay with her for four weeks to care for her afterward and make sure she was alright. Then, the next month, in December, I had surgery of my own on my right hand, for carpal tunnel syndrome. I’m a writer, so I had a good case of it, and I was quite relieved to have it taken care of finally. The surgery went well, I didn’t have too much pain outside of the ordinary, and I recovered pretty quickly, for hand surgery. It was still a matter of weeks, not days, but I recovered.

So, by the end of February, I’m back in my apartment, doing my own things. My apartment, is admittedly, a wreck because I’ve had only one hand, can’t bathe myself, and haven’t been able to get it wet since December 29th, BUT, I was managing. By the time my birthday was near, my property manager was knocking on my door with a 30-day eviction notice. That was the crappiest birthday ever. (If you look in the “updates” section of my GoFundMe, linked below, you can see proof of this) I’ve had bad birthdays two years in a row now. I cried for a week straight, it felt like. My mom was so worried about me. I’ve been so overwhelmed…

--

--

Brooke Pérez

Writer of fantasy stories. Blogs about the journey getting there. Mental health, relationships, writing tips. #ActuallyAutistic, Sci-Fi fan, Lover of Movies