A TRUE STORY

What Happens in the Waiting Room Stays in the Waiting Room

On Aliens, Fairies, Guardian Angels, Restroom Keys, Golf Cart Accidents and Sentient Pillows

[Bad] Ideas For Writers (& Life)
8 min readJul 30, 2022

--

NOTE: For a read to count, we have to scroll all the way to the end of the article and even to the stuff after the article. Just letting you know. :) 🙏🏽⬇︎❤️

Alien or Pillow? Photo Credit: Lightstorm Studios

Join me will you, while I sit here and wait for the nurse to call my name? Join me while this couple next to me whispers loud enough for all of us scattered around the edges of this waiting room to eavesdrop.

Sentient or Polyurethane? | Photo by author

I’ll run some errands instead of waiting with you, okay? the woman said to the man.

Get me a new pillow, he said.

Our pillows are fine, she said.

Mine’s not.

Okay.

They were in their late 60s, well put-together, and unaware they had an audience.

You don’t believe me, he said.

I believe you.

I’m telling you, it’s sentient.

--

--

[Bad] Ideas For Writers (& Life)

Reading this stuff will make you Better Looking, Taller, Skinnier, Funnier and Rich. We produce international stand-up comedy tours and film and tv. WGA, DGA