[BAD] IDEAS FOR INCOME CALCULATION IN THE REAL WORLD

What if the Way We Got Paid on Medium Was How We Got Paid Everywhere?

Do the math because I don’t want to

[Bad] Ideas For Writers (& Life)
6 min readSep 23, 2022

--

If the real world paid out like Medium, as seen through the eyes of a drug dealer.

The Blind Pig

I used to be a bartender while attending university.

During the day I worked at an ice cream parlor.

At the bar, The Blind Pig in Ann Arbor, I’d usually get a $1.00 tip per beer that I pulled, or $5 per pitcher of Bahama Mamas, Long Island Iced Teas, or Slow Comfortable Screws. By the time I was hired, the Lube-Less Backdoor Break-ins were no longer being served.

I’d be dishing out drinks non-stop. People were coming up three deep along the 10 foot bar. There was a live band in the same intimate space and people had to shout and wave money to get my attention. Now that I think back, life has never been as good as it was on those nights. Fuck, why did I not just quit college and become a bartender. So stupid. Physics and philosophy, nice double major, bozo. Half my time is spent defining reality, the other

--

--

[Bad] Ideas For Writers (& Life)

Reading this stuff will make you Better Looking, Taller, Skinnier, Funnier and Rich. We produce international stand-up comedy tours and film and tv. WGA, DGA