All The Bright Places

Scripted Sagas
2 min readJul 11, 2023

--

Book Review

Overall Rating: 4.5/5, Genre: Drama, Young Adult, Love, Mental Wellness
Author: Jeniffer Niven

Recommendation: Must Read

I have realized that I am a sucker for love stories with a looming tragedy built into the theme. I have also accepted that I will cry when I read such a book. “All the Bright Places” is a book that tells the story of two troubled teenagers — Violet and Finch, and explores how Violet learns to live from Finch who wants to die. Even as I type these words, I am transported back to the touching moments and the vivid imagery that Jennifer Niven has managed to weave via the words of this book. I was transported to Indiana, a place I have never visited. I wished to see all the spots that Violet and Finch explored together, hoping to find what they had left behind. I want to visit the shoe tree and take the rollercoaster ride again and again. Somehow, I feel it might help to feel what they felt at that moment when they were there. Such is the connection that this book made with me.

Mental well-being is not talked about, not enough at least. We try to hide behind masks and Instagram filters, hoping that no one sees us for who we really are. Some of us come unscathed on the other side, but most aren’t so lucky. We let our fears conquer our spirit, our hopelessness distance ourselves from the ones who can have our back. This book is everything that an author could do to shed some light on the mind and thoughts of such people, especially the ones who are young and vulnerable. Thank you Jennifer Niven for writing this book. I will never forget this line…
“We do not remember days, we remember moments.”

Some other wow and memorable quotes from the book:

“The problem with people is they forget that most of the time it’s the small things that count.”

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

“The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody.”

“You make me lovely, and it’s so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.…”

“People rarely bring flowers to a suicide.”

“Sorry wastes time. You have to live your life like you’ll never be sorry. It’s easier just to do the right thing from the start so there’s nothing to apologize for.”

“What a terrible feeling to love someone and not be able to help them.”

--

--