log 6 = 0.7781

Vishnu Bharathi
3 min readNov 12, 2017

--

This is my sixth weekly log.

Friend’s puzzle

A friend of mine sent me a puzzle question over telegram. It was quite interesting and I tried solving it. It felt like a classic crypto problem.

Going dark

I am going to gradually switch to a dark theme in everything I use, as I find it more soothing. In fact, I am already typing on a dark interface in medium.

Medium Dark theme ( https://userstyles.org/styles/137280/medium-dark-grey )

It’s not what you read, it’s what you ignore

Go Benchmarks in VS Code

I have been using VS Code for writing Golang for a while. Few months back, I had this feature request.

yay! It’s going to be live on the next VS Code update.

Keeping away

I suffered from very high eye pain during this week, which is making me to keep away from computers and thinking in general.

The Reddit Failure

In log 4, I was excited about the launch of a new version of a software side project that me and my friend maintain. We tried our luck at spreading the word about it and shared on reddit. But, it was a failure. We had no response over it. I am not entirely sure of why. But, anyways if you are reading this and are trying out microplan, I would love to know your feedback.

Google Trends

After the great reddit failure, I started thinking about how successful information sharing is done on the internet. So, I decided to get some tips about it from Pavan ( We work together at Shippable ). He introduced me to probably one of the basic tools that I should be using while sharing something on the internet.

There are lot of factors while sharing content and some of them are,

  • What am I sharing ?
  • Where am I sharing ?
  • When am I sharing ?

I always had the question of “Is this the right time to share on this web site ?”, because I don’t want the people who would like to read and give feedback on the content that I am sharing to be sleeping when I post it. Thanks to Pavan for introducing me to this amazing tool.

Wikipedia says,

Google Trends is a public web facility of Google Inc., based on Google Search, that shows how often a particular search-term is entered relative to the total search-volume across various regions of the world, and in various languages.”

That’s cool. This could give us a place where traffic of site could be high. And based on the region, we could get a time to post on it. For example, I did a google trend search on Flipkart ( Flipkart is a popular e-commerce site in India ) and google trends gives me the exact result. So, if I am writing something about Flipkart, then the right time to share it is daytime in Indian Standard Time.

Google Trends result for Flipkart

Wishlist

  • Publish a clean dark theme for youtube at https://userstyles.org
  • Write a blog post about the implementation of horizontal scaling in a message queue software.

Thanks for reading. I quote verses from my favourite Tamil literature “Tirukkuṛaḷ” at the end of my blog posts.

“பயன்தூக்கார் செய்த உதவி நயன்தூக்கின்

நன்மை கடலின் பெரிது”

— திருக்குறள்

Translated meaning ( in my words ): The kindness in the act of helping others without expecting anything in return is larger than the size of a sea.

--

--

Vishnu Bharathi

Loves Learning things. Linux + Programming + Ice cream + Chocolates + Milk shakes