Sometimes You Never Know How Strong You Are Until You Have No Other Choice

Senetta Diane
2 min readFeb 19, 2024

Life does not care who you are or who you think you are when it calls you will answer ~ Author

Image by Author

One day you wake up and you realize you are in the fight of your life. Sometimes the fight comes in the form of your health, other times it comes with a person who has your last name and when you have lived long enough the fight will show up in your financial security. While you are living life you don’t recognize a storm is brewing.

As a Christ follower, I thought if I prayed and treated people better than they treated me, the storms of life would not come to my house. I had no idea that you may, prepare for a fight your entire life and not be aware of it. You can treat people with kindness and the rain or Tsunami is still going. I have often wondered why my family did not discuss the torrential rains that are built into life.

I have some time under my belt and I talk to my children quite often about the circumstances and lessons that are built into life. I didn’t know you could work out in life and at least have the stamina to endure whatever blows life will sometimes give you. While serving in the war I learned how to run in the sand. I have no words that can describe the experience. I can say it built up my endurance for the years that were to come.

Image by Author

That is how life can be sometimes, we train unknowingly for these harrowing moments in life. We don’t recognize the season of grief may be preparing us for a far more dangerous time ahead with a bully at work or a spouse abandoning us. Whatever the workout is that you are in or leaving just know sometimes we never know how strong we are until we have no other choice.

Time can be a friend or a foe, it has a way of making sense of moments we cannot wrap our minds around or we are not ready to understand. Sometimes we look back at life lessons and think we failed we didn’t fail we were working out for the next moment in life. Remember you survived for a reason, you’re stronger than you know and you have more insight than others realize.

Check out my Podcast Life 101, Esty Shop or Ko-fi Shop

Thank you for reading

--

--

Senetta Diane

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul