What Does 23% Body Fat Look Like?

In my case, maybe it’s not what you expect.

Thomas P Seager, PhD
Morozko: Uncommon Cold
5 min readJun 23, 2018

--

I always knew I was a fat kid, who grew up to be a pudgy young man, who matured into an obese, middle-aged adult Dad. By mid-40’s, I was setting a bad example for my kids, my wife was unhappy, and I was embarrassed by the shape I was in.

So my daughter and I decided to do something about it. She wrote out a list of body weight, free weight, and yoga ball exercises for me, including little stick figures to demonstrate what each position looked like.

She called it The Fat Daddy Workout and she did it with me once a week.

Because my son has been Type 1 diabetic since he was six years old, I’d already learned a few things about the Atkin’s diet, low carb diets, blood glucose levels, insulin, and ketosis. So I eliminated carbs, took some of my son’s keto strips and started running my metabolism in and out of ketosis.

I dropped to 215, and people noticed.

To keep losing weight, I had to increase my exercise. So, I started experimenting with different classes at the gym.

Spin cycle was not for me. Yoga was better. Kickboxing was fun.

--

--