Sean Bradshaw
1 min readJul 25, 2017

--

Antoine, this is great. Found you by googling exactly your title “React without Webpack”, awesome. This is very close to how I’ve been running a development environment for a while, making node do any inline transpiling or building on the fly. You just added React and the nice reload messaging, the latter of which is super light weight and awesome. So much better than the service worker embedded in react-create-app, mostly just because I really want to know how to self implement a service worker and I feel like theirs would get in the way of that.

I’m curious, did you require module support just to get the HTTP2 server push functionality to work? I love the idea of modules, but they’re still super new and great to get to know them, I’m doing production work, and can’t usually wait for browsers in the wild to get upgraded. I guess modules are closer than service workers though, heh.

The only thing that’s missing is CSS preprocessing which I could do without, but I have a lot of co-workers that are dependent on it. Would you want a pull request if I were to add it in as development server option?

--

--