Ubiquiti UniFi Setup at Home 90 Days Later, and Thoughts of Side Hustling

Sean Miedema
7 min readApr 4, 2018
UniFi AP Pro sitting pretty, mounted to the wall.

I’ve had a home UniFi setup for three months or so now, so I thought that after my initial writeup (which blew up after Ubiquiti linked to it, hello world), I’d give some long term impressions with how everything is going, interesting things I’ve noticed, and how I’ve been thinking about building this into a little side hustle.

Stability

When I purchased the system, part of the appeal was the very boring idea of rock-solid stability, and so, bear witness:

61 days, after the last firmware update I did. Delightful.

Dang, 61 days of continual uptime since the last time I performed a firmware update (looks like I’m due to do another). Really pleased with this aspect. For someone who’s dependant on solid connectivity, this is a great feature.

One thing that I think is very neat is how easily devices roam from one AP to the other. I’ve been watching a lot of streaming video lately (March Madness, anyone?), and I can walk my iPad with me from one side of the house to the other without a hitch, and you can actually see in the logs when it switches between APs. Very cool.

--

--