Sedigheh Abassi-sirchi
3 min readFeb 21, 2020
Reseda, Ca 91335
Kpcradiostudio Pierce College, Farsi show host Hengame Abassi Photo by Shadi Amini 2017
My daughter Melissa and Iran, Kerman (photograph Nasser Abassi)1979

In 1983 I was temporarily released on bail because of a chronic illness that I had suffered in prison in my origin country Iran. For a year I lived underground in various cities of Iran and finally, while I was seven months pregnant, I fled my country with of my husband and my three-year- old daughter and took refuge in Germany.

In the new country where I was neither familiar with its language nor its culture, I started my new path. It wasn’t easy way to start, but I did. I went through a lot of challenges, but I was happy with my new life. I accepted Germany as my Country as I became German citizen and I dedicated myself to my new environment as my own.

For some reason, after Twenty-two years my children and I left Germany for California. Second immigration, new challenges again, new language, and new cultural shock begun. My diploma as a Registered Geriatric Nurse would not be recognized here. I went to Work source Center become a place in nursing school for study to become Certified Nurse Assistant. With more than thirty years of nursing experience I wasn’t even allowed to give the patient sub-Cotinus injection and of course my income for the job was so low that I moved from my first apartment in Beverly Hills to an smaller Apartment in the Westwood, later in Encino and I ended up to Reseda, Sherman Way a neighborhood that has the most diversity.

Reseda, Sherman Way is a massy, busy neighborhood with the highest number of car crashes, most violence and crime rate.

Whatever I have a few positive experiences of living in the United states. One of them is the opportunity to study in the field that I always dreamed of, namely Journalism and Broad casting, I also was able to be TV host in an Iranian Tv Iran- e-Farda for two years and also had my own Radio Show in Farsi over 8 semester at Pierce Collage and Valley College as well as Iranian Internet Radio called Radio Shadi.

Many people in my age are retired , have died or planning for a place in nursing home, but I challenge myself sitting in classroom with young students that are in the same age as my ground children if I had some.