Dark and Black mode

Life as an intern at Tink

Mani Sedighi
2 min readNov 6, 2018

--

Mani Sedighi, a student at IT Högskolan in Gothenburg, joined Tink for an internship in app development. He gave us an insight into his experience of his time here.

Over the last eight weeks, I’ve been an intern on the iOS team at Tink. Leaving my family and ordinary student life in Gothenburg was a big change for me. With a new city and new people to get to know, I wasn’t sure what I was letting myself in for. I’d heard about Tink before and I thought the company sounded really exiting, so I decided to apply, and I was really happy when I heard I got the placement.

In my first week, I got to meet the whole team and started on some simple assignments. Tink was expanding and a lot of things were happening simultaneously, so there was plenty to do. The first thing I did was to look for a storyboard. After searching everywhere, I asked one of the team members where it was and he said they don’t use storyboards. It’s just a small thing, but I had no idea how to work without a visual of the app in Xcode — it’s not how I’d learned at school. I quickly realised that this was nothing like school, and I started to wonder how I would manage to survive the eight weeks here. Thankfully, my teammates were really helpful from day one. I didn’t have time to miss my home in Gothenburg because I was so eager to understand the code structure. I’ve heard stories from friends who studied for five or more years in university to become engineers and felt like they didn’t know anything when they got their first job. I understand them now, because everything I thought I knew was not necessarily how it worked in the real world. But the support I received from the team was wonderful — I really felt like a member of the team and more like an employee than an intern.

During my time here, I’ve been working on real projects and all my work will be in Tink’s consumer app. One of the bigger projects I contributed to was creating new themes for the app. This was really enjoyable because I got to work with all parts of the app.

For me, the best part of being an intern at Tink is that people here made a genuine effort to teach me when I didn’t understand and made me feel useful. I can’t describe my appreciation to the team’s investment in me. It’s been a fantastic experience to work with such a great product and wonderful people.

For more information about internships at Tink, visit https://jobs.tink.se/

--

--