Travel Tips

Daniel Brunson
2 min readJun 9, 2019

--

Brooklyn Bridge. Eyewear by Born in Brooklyn
Graffiti wall in D.U.M.B.O. Brooklyn

I love to travel. When I was in NYC for Vision Expo East earlier this Spring I took some time to visit Brooklyn. There is an area of Brooklyn called DUMBO. The name is an acronym for Down Under the Manhattan Bridge Overpass. This area is full of boutiques and trendy restaurants. ⁣⠀
⁣⠀
When I saw this wall covered in street art there I had to stop and capture the moment. All of the colors make me happy! I couldn’t help but wonder if Jean-Michel Basquiat may have hung out in this area contributing to the street art scene here in the 1970’s and 1980’s as he did in SOHO and other areas of Manhattan. ⁣⠀
⁣⠀
I was intentional with the eyewear I chose to wear that day as well. My frame, fitted with Transitions lenses, was made by the Born In Brooklyn Spectacle Co., which was created by Tom Cody. Tom is from Brooklyn, and it was from him that I took my travel advice on which areas of Brooklyn to visit. He told me exactly which neighborhoods to check out. I got a great taste of the local culture, which I love to do while traveling.⁣⠀
⁣⠀
My travel tips.⁣⠀
1.) Find out where the locals hang out, and go explore those places.⁣⠀
2.) If you wear glasses, be sure to pack a frame with Transitions lenses. My XTRActive Brown lenses are my top pick for travel. ⁣⠀

--

--

Daniel Brunson
0 Followers

Blogger & purveyer of independent eyewear. I am an optician and entrepreneur with a passion for healthy living.