Portfolio Project Blog post: OnTrack

Grey
2 min readDec 22, 2023

--

Ontrack is a project management application that helps you keep track of all your projects. I completed the project alone to thoroughly test and explore my capabilities as an aspiring full-stack developer. I created this web app to provide users with a project management software with an intuitive design which makes onboarding a breeze.

The idea was initially inspired by the ALX intranet. I found the planning/calendar feature very useful because it helped me to keep track of my projects. As a result, I had developed better time management skills. I wanted to build something similar and upon further research, I discovered Monday.com and my project became a monday.com clone.

Features

OAuth via Google. It is functionality that has value for the user.

Technical challenges

Data Security and Privacy: Protecting user data and being mindful of not exposing sensitive data I overcame this by using 0Auth authentication, environment variables and a secure database.

What I have learnt

I learnt that there are various technologies and web frameworks one could use to develop a web application and that it is crucial to find the suitable one for your case.

About me

I am an aspiring full-stack developer who enjoys learning about different aspects of life. My hobbies are knitting and painting but I also enjoy outdoor activities such as river-rafting and hiking.

--

--