Halsey’s “Control”

Chelsi Pauley
2 min readFeb 9, 2018

--

Halsey’s song, “Control,” is a powerful piece she wrote before her big hit “Closer” with the Chainsmokers. Some may not know that Halsey suffers from Bipolar disorder, one of many mental illness our society withstands. Music is a big part of our generation. Many artists use their music as a platform to speak of both personal challenges and problems in our society. Because mental illness carries a stigma, it is quite inspiring to hear a young woman open up about depression and reach out to those who suffer the same illness. There are those who do not understand or care to understand depression; however, social media, music, and movies help “non-believers” hear first-hand how it feels to live with depression. In her chilling song she sings

“I sat alone, in bed till the morning

I’m crying,

“They’re coming for me” and

I tried to hold these secrets inside me my mind’s like a deadly disease.”

I believe vulnerable artists give others the confidence to share their struggles. Their music provides a gateway for expression. Those without a mental illness may find “Control” hard to understand in terms of its deeper meaning. To some, she may sound crazy which is exactly how those with a mental illness are often regarded. Before Halsey’s rise to fame her songs centered around her mental illness, and I personally believe it became her outlet. When she became famous she began to go with the flow of the pop music industry; however, “Bad at Love” hints at her battle with depression. If you have background knowledge of her life you would recognize the reference through the following lyrics: “You know I’d be lying if I said you were the one that could finally fix me, looking at my history.” She is not implying she cannot “do” love because of her illness, but she is claiming love can be a great challenge while battling depression. If you research her, you will find a plethora of songs referencing her illness using obscure lyrics.

--

--